Worms

So, despite my dismal failure at tomato plants two years ago, I felt inspired this year and have planted a few things.  Okay….more than a few.  When I get done sticking everything in the ground, I will have seven tomato plants, six cucumber plants, two squash plants, and God knows how many carrots, radishes (two different kinds!), green beans and….what else did I buy?  I dunno, maybe cantaloupe.  Nope…..turnips!  And…oh yeah….four zuchini.  Clearly, I am crazy.  But, as usual, God used my craziness to speak to me.

When I got done with all the digging I intended to do for the night and had stuck all of about five plants in the ground, I sat down to survey my hard work.  It took about thirty seconds for a couple of enterprising robins to figure out I had unearthed some nice, juicy worms.  I watched them for a few minutes, grabbing every worm they could see, then decided to try to get close enough for a picture.  They eyed me warily as I stood up and inched closer.  It was then that I noticed a racket in the neighbor’s azalea bush.  I stepped to the fence to see what was stirring and realized it was yet another robin.  This one was looking for worms in the safety of the bush.  However, didn’t seem to be having nearly as good luck as the guys (or girls!) who discovered my grassless patch of ground.  God reminded me that we, as His people, can be that way.  He prepares a way for us.  He provides for our every need.  How often, because of fear of the unknown, do we stay in the bushes, doing it our own way….the hard way….instead of stepping out in faith and accepting what He’s given?

So….let me encourage you.  Be bold!  Take hold of what God has for you!  And remember “Be strong and of good courage, do not fear nor be afraid of them; for the LORD your God, He is the One who goes with you. He will not leave you nor forsake you.”  Deuteronomy 31:6 NKJV

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

