Do You Love Me?

“Do you love me or do you not?  You told me once, but I forgot!”

It’s funny how the mind works.  For weeks now, this memory keeps popping in my head.  I was probably two or three, had on summer clothes, a nice dark tan and my sisters had me plopped on the washing machine teaching me that little saying.  I remember vividly throwing my arms open wide at the end, trying to say it with just the inflection they taught me.  Such a fun memory!  Then, they would scoop me up and hug me and exclaim over how good I did and tell me they loved me. 

As adults, I think we still ask that question.  Maybe not in words.  But, look around you.  Who’s asking for love?  The kid who’s bullying others?  The mean boss?  The grumpy spouse?  The soul weeping at the altar?  The quiet one?  The one who’s smile never quite reaches her eyes?  Or all the wonderful actors around us who go around and pretend everything’s just fine?

God calls us to love.  The scriptures are rich with it.  To love as He loves.  Jesus even said that would be how folks would know we were followers of Him.  The verse of the day on biblegateway.com (I LOVE that site!) is Let love be without dissimulation. Abhor that which is evil; cleave to that which is good.  Be kindly affectioned one to another with brotherly love; in honour preferring one another; Romans 12:9 – 10, KJV.  Or, as The Message puts it Love from the center of who you are; don’t fake it. Run for dear life from evil; hold on for dear life to good. Be good friends who love deeply; practice playing second fiddle.

Wow.  That makes it pretty clear….doesn’t it?  And, of course, love is an action word.  Yes, the words are important.  The people you love need to hear “I love you.”  Yes, all three words!  But, there has to be action behind those words or they can seem pretty empty.  So, I’ll ask you again…..who around you needs to know they’re loved? 

Dear Heavenly Father, thank You for You!  Thank You for loving us.  Open our eyes today to those around us.  Show us how we can be Your love to a hurting soul today.  In Jesus’ precious name, amen.

Be blessed today.  Tell (and show!) someone that you love them!

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Do You Love Me?

  1. Terry says:

    I was just teaching this poem to Zack over the weekend…I was thinking about our fun times teachng it to you….How wonderful is it that God let’s this simple little poem work magic in so many lives…ps… My arms are wide open…and I’m loving you and your blogs this morning,,,,

Leave a Reply

