Love

Ya know….Jesus said that the two most important commandments are to love God with everything in us and to love others as we love ourselves.  Sometimes, I forget that.  Sometimes, I get so wrapped up in life and how I feel….well, I get wrapped up in myself….and I forget that He really only calls me to love.  Everything else is secondary.  If I’m loving the way He calls me to, the other stuff will go along naturally with it.  So, although this poem wasn’t written this week, it’s appropriate for where God has me.  Hopefully, it’ll speak to someone else’s heart.
 
God, help me look past my selfishness
Lord, past myself
To what You want me to see.
Focus my heart on what’s important
Which I know is only You,
Lord, help me see past me.
Give my heart strength, Lord
To love as You’ve called me
Lord, to love as You do.
Examine my heart, Lord
Remove that which doesn’t belong
The me that blocks my view of You.
 
Jesus replied, “The most important commandment is this: ‘Listen, O Israel! The Lord our God is the one and only Lord.  And you must love the Lord your God with all your heart, all your soul, all your mind, and all your strength.’  The second is equally important: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’ No other commandment is greater than these.”  Mark 12: 29-31 NIV
 
For the whole law can be summed up in this one command: “Love your neighbor as yourself.”  Galatians 5:14 NIV
 
Be blessed and remember to tell someone that you love them today!
About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

