Pay attention!

Tonight, we had a celebration after church in the fellowship hall.  (read:  we ate!).  When it was time to line up for food, my sweet friend encouraged me to come line up with her.  I’m not sure how or why, but I got distracted, then when I turned back, I thought I was going to be jumping in line if I joined her, so I wound my way through the room to get in the very long line.  When I was still 10 people away from the food, my friend walked up and asked “so I guess you didn’t realize there were two lines, huh?”  She then told me that she was calling to me, trying to get my attention, but I kept heading for the long line.  So, she got her food and drink and dessert before I even got to the table.

It made me wonder how often God’s calling to me, trying to get my attention to show me an easier, better path and I just don’t hear Him.  Maybe I’m distracted by the noise of the world.  Or maybe I’m so focused on what He told me to do, I forget to slow down long enough to find out how He wants me to do it.  (What if Noah had done that??  Can you imagine what the Noah’s ark story would read like?).  So….how do we “hear” God?  Spend time in His Word, spend time in prayer, listen to the godly folks He places in our path…pay attention!

And thine ears shall hear a word behind thee, saying, This is the way, walk ye in it, when ye turn to the right hand, and when ye turn to the left.   Isaiah 30:21 KJV

Be blessed and be sure to tell someone that you love them!

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

