Poop!

Wait….don’t stop reading yet!  I know, poop doesn’t seem like a very mature or appropriate thing to title my blog post, but keep reading, I think you’ll be surprised.

So….somehow the subject of poop came up between the dear husband and I.  One good thing about being married forever is that very few subjects are off-limits.  His point about the subject was God is God…why did He make poop?  Seriously, was there not a better way to deal with our food by-product?  But, think about the usefulness.  Manure (there, is that a better, more mature word for you?) is used for fertilizer.  When mixed into the soil it…blah, blah, blah and….makes the ground better for planting (I skipped over the technical parts.  wiki it if you need to know!).  It can be converted into crude oil.  They are even powering houses with it, using some heating technique.  And, did you know they (whoever “they” is) are researching and developing an asphalt using pig manure?  See, useful stuff.  How amazing is our God that He uses “waste” to create new life and energy.

And look at the spiritual parallel.  How often does He use the bad in our lives – the “waste,” if you will – to create good?  Moses was stuck in a basket in the Nile, raised by an ungodly Pharoah and killed a man, yet God used him to lead His people out of Egypt.  David was slight, a shepherd (certainly not a high-profile job!) and the baby of his family, yet God anointed Him king…and despite his mistakes, he was called a man after God’s own heart.  And how about Paul?  He was Saul, tormentor of Christians…until He met Jesus.  Then, everything changed.  And God used the waste of his life as a stark background to the new man He became – a man who we look to over and over in the scriptures for a human model of what being a Christian should look like.

So…what about your poop?  We all have it….mistakes, failures, shortcomings.  But, God promises in His Word “And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.”  Romans 8:28  Be encouraged that, if you are His child, He is going to use your bad stuff, mix it in with the good stuff and grow good fruit in you!

Be blessed and show someone some love today!

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

