Be still!

Once….well, okay, more than once!….my daughter lost an earring in the pool.  This time it was just after swim practice that she discovered it missing.  Of course, it was a huge deal and she and a friend swam all over the pool searching, while a few of us (fully clothed) adults tried to spot it from the deck.  After a fruitless search, the grandmotherly woman who managed the pool had a wise piece of advice for us.  “Leave it.  Let the pool get still.  In the morning, if it’s in there, I’ll be able to see it.”  Sure enough, the next evening, a grinning eight year old was presented with the lost and found earring.

This evening, in my Bible reading, I was reminded that David said “Search me, O God, and know my heart: try me, and know my thoughts: And see if there be any wicked way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.” Psalm 139:23-24  As hard as we searched for that earring, we couldn’t see it while the water was moving – it had to be still for the sun to glint off of it.  How often do we ask God to search our hearts, then forget (or refuse!) to be still to hear His voice?  Only when we allow ourselves to be still before the One Who created us and Who knows us can the Son glint off the things in our hearts He needs us to recognize. 

Today, I encourage you to “Be still, and know that I am God” Psalm 46:10.  Let the Lord search your heart and know your thoughts….and reveal to you the parts that are bad or hurtful or just unnecessary.  Yes, it’s hard to be still, but a closer walk with Him is worth it!

Be blessed and tell someone that you love them!

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

