Life is Short

Yep, that’s my brilliant statement for the day.  It comes to me as I watch my dad struggle with a disease that knows no mercy.  The fragility of life is apparent as I pray for a family whose daughter tried to kill herself.  The words echo through my brain as I hear about a man absolutely broken up over the death of his adult daughter. 

We are not promised our next breath.  Our hearts will only beat so many times, our lungs will only draw so many breaths, then…we’re done.  For those of us who have accepted Christ…who are “saved”…we will move on to Heaven.  For the others, a fiery hell is promised.  Yes, I’m well aware that there are a lot of folks who don’t believe it happens quite that way.  I’m not here to argue that point. 

Here’s my point.  Do it.  Say it.  Feel it.  Mean it.  Whatever “it” is. 

Do you tell the ones you love that you love them?  (yep, love again!)  When they tell you, do you return the sentiment?  Do you use all three words or do you try to make it less personal, less transparent, less vulnerable by saying “love you” or “love ya?”  Your loved ones need to hear it.  They need to feel it.  They need to know it.  Makes sure they do.

Are you putting off a dream?  Little or big, doesn’t matter.  Keeping a bucket list that never gets any items checked off?  Quit writing and start checking.  Refusing to forgive someone?  Or accept their forgiveness?  Do it.  Have you lost touch with someone who you think about often?  Call them.

Have you built a relationship with the One Who matters most?  If not, now’s a really good time.  Because, as I said, life is short.  And we’re not promised tomorrow.  If you haven’t accepted Him….really and truly….just do it.  Let Him rule and reign.  Doesn’t make life easy, but it surely makes it worth living.

Now….as for me….I’m going to go let a few people know how much I love them.  I suggest you do the same.

In HIS love…

For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.  John 3:16 NIV

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

