Storms

It’s storming outside as I sit at my computer, wondering what on earth I should write.  I have friends and family members who are terrified of storms, but I don’t really mind them.  I think the lightning is beautiful and I love the sound of the rain hitting the house.  And, of course, the rain is making my garden very happy!  But, storms can come with destruction.  This year has reminded us resoundingly of that.  So…of course….I relate it to our lives.

Storms in life are hard.  I don’t like them nearly as much as the ones outside the house.  You know what a storm looks like in your life.  Everything is bumping along nicely, then, BAM you lose your job or your friend or husband or house or you can’t feel God or your children are slipping away.  It’s different for everyone.  And we all go through them.  But, a very wise young woman once made a profoundly simple statement – Every storm has an end….no storm lasts forever.  And all that “rain?”  Yeah, in the same way that the liquid stuff feeds my garden, the rain in our lives feeds our spirit…when we seek God.  He grows us in ways during a storm that He can’t in the good times.  If we’re never in need of a miracle, how will we know that He’s a miracle worker?

As I wait for this storm to pass, I’m going to praise Him for protecting me and bringing me through it.  Why don’t you do the same?

Beloved, think it not strange concerning the fiery trial which is to try you, as though some strange thing happened unto you:  But rejoice, inasmuch as ye are partakers of Christ’s sufferings; that, when his glory shall be revealed, ye may be glad also with exceeding joy.   1 Peter 4:12-13

Be blessed and tell someone you love them!

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

