Boldly

So, an odd thing happened at church this week. Not bad odd, unusual odd.  At the end of the prayer requests, the pastor’s wife was quietly told she was needed at the back of the church.  She went, then quickly came back.  And marched straight up the aisle to the pulpit.  At this point, all the prayer requests had been voiced, and pastor was about to start praying.  When he saw his wife walking his way, he stopped and watched her.  His attention was absolutely riveted on the love of his life walking his way.  When she got to him, she quickly told him something, then turned and walked out of the church (gathering her mom and their purses on the way).  Pastor announced that his wife’s sister had been in a bad accident and we needed to pray….now!

What a perfect picture of us and our God!  We are told in the scriptures to “come boldly unto the throne of grace” (Hebrews 4:16)….which is exactly what this wife did.  She knew that it was unusual, but that it would be okay, given the circumstances.  And pastor?  He knew if she thought it was important enough to come right then, he should listen.  And all his attention was on her and her request at that moment.  This is exactly how I picture our Heavenly Father reacting to us coming to Him in prayer.  His attention focused on His child coming to Him with whatever’s on our heart and mind at the moment.  He loves, listens, comforts, answers.

What do you need to approach the throne with tonight?  Know that Your God is waiting for you expectantly, lovingly and has the answer you need.

Be blessed and tell someone you love them!

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

