The Liar

Proverbs 16:28 has really spoken to my heart lately.  You may think it’s an odd verse to meditate on, but when I explain, I think you’ll get it.  First, though, here it is in several versions:

A froward man soweth strife: and a whisperer separateth chief friends.  KJV  (By the way, according to dictionary.com, froward means “willfully contrary!”)

A perverse man spreads strife, And a slanderer separates intimate friends.  NASB   

A devious person spreads quarrels.  A gossip separates the closest of friends.  GOD’S WORD version

Troublemakers start fights; gossips break up friendships.  The Message

Okay, so according to these different versions, a willfully contrary, perverse, devious, troublemaking person goes around starting trouble.  And a gossip can come between the closest friends.  Now, before you go “duh” and turn me off, keep reading.  Yes, we all know those people who seem to be happy only if they’re creating trouble for others.  Or who talk about other folks to make themselves feel better.  I don’t know about you, but I try to keep my distance from them.  My life is complicated enough without adding people to it who make it harder.  But, if you’re communicating with the person they’re trying to separate you from, it makes it pretty difficult for the gossip to come between you because the truth is going to trump a lie.

So, now, let’s take it in a different direction.  We know that the natural and the spiritual parallel each other.  Who is the liar?  The thief?  The enemy of our soul?  Yep, that mean ol’ devil….satan himself.  Think about those scriptures in the spiritual realm.  I’ve often said that secrets are the devil’s playplace.  When communication has stopped, the enemy can use that silence to create friction by speaking lies to us.  “God’s forgotten you.”  “You’re not good enough.”  “God can’t forgive that.”  Those are all lies (that I think we’ve all heard at one time or another).  Truth is the antidote for these lies.  Spend time with your Heavenly Father and let Him speak His Truth to your heart. 

And if the lies are about a person?  You know…”They hate me.”  “Our marriage is over.”  “There’s no hope for this relationship.”  For these lies, the answer is the same.  Communication.  Stop the devil in his tracks.  Truth….yes, even a hurtful one….is better than a lie spoken by the enemy.  We can deal with truth.  Jesus said “I am the way, the truth, and the life” (John 14:6 KJV).  Shortened, He’s telling us He is the Truth.  When two of God’s children come together to speak the truth (in love!  see Ephesians 4:15), to flush out the enemy and his lies, I believe God meets us there and restores what He has ordained. 

So….who do you need to communicate with?  Your Heavenly Father?  (the answer to this one is “yes!  always!”) Your spouse?  A friend?  A family member?  Go ahead and do it.  The fear of what may happen is far worse than the truth of what God can do when we allow Him to be at the center of it.

Be blessed and tell someone you love them!

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

