Fighting Fire With Fire

I was in my garden this morning.  (I know….lots of lessons from the garden!)  The Lord has blessed my little garden and I have grown dozens of beautiful tomatoes.  My plants are consistently covered with them.  And the squirrels love them!  Out of all the tomatoes I’ve grown, we’ve only actually gotten to eat two ripe ones (and a handful of green ones that I fried for the kids!).  My neighbor has had the same problem and was trapping the squirrels and carrying them far away from our neighborhood to get rid of them.  The obvious problem with that is that we can’t possibly trap every squirrel in the ‘hood.  (And I’m pretty sure that, like any good eating place, word of mouth has made us popular with the squirrels from the nearby ‘hoods!).  So, yesterday my neighbor told me that he heard if you spray a 50/50 mixture of hot sauce and water on the plants, the squirrels will leave them alone.  Makes good sense to me, so I was in my garden this morning, diligently spraying my plants.  (Now, let’s hope my squirrels don’t have a taste for Texas Pete!).

As I was spraying my plants with the hot, red liquid, God reminded me that we are fighting battles everyday as Christians.  When we battle a neighbor, family member, loved one…even a stranger!….we are not really fighting them.  We’re fighting the enemy of our souls.  And even though it’s frustrating to fight something we can’t see and so much easier to be mad at the person in front of us, it’s important for us to realize what’s really going on.  God gives us the weapons we need.  We are to fight fire with fire.  When satan shoots his fiery darts at us, here’s God’s instruction to us:

Finally, be strong in the Lord and in his mighty power.  Put on the full armor of God, so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes. For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms. Therefore put on the full armor of God, so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand. Stand firm then, with the belt of truth buckled around your waist, with the breastplate of righteousness in place, and with your feet fitted with the readiness that comes from the gospel of peace. In addition to all this, take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one. Take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God.   And pray in the Spirit on all occasions with all kinds of prayers and requests  ~Ephesians 6:10-18 NIV

So…what are you battling?  Don’t try to do it in your own power.  And don’t shoot the messenger, so to speak.  Your battle is not with the person, it’s with the true enemy.  He’s already lost the war, don’t let him win the battle!

Be blessed, tell someone you love them and get prayed up!

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fighting Fire With Fire

  1. sharon hinson says:

    I love you. Will see you Sunday for a little while – Hopefully I am bringing the boys and Bethanny back with us. If Jacob wants to come we would love to have him. I believe Kaelyn will be at the beach??? If not she too is welcome.

    Aunt Sharon

Leave a Reply

