Priorities

There’s a quote that says “Never allow someone to be your priority while allowing yourself to be their option.”  I’ve seen it on Facebook – in fact many of my friends have posted it and I “liked” it.  I agreed wholeheartedly.  I don’t think I ever posted it as my own status, but not because I didn’t agree with it.  I mean, really, why should I waste my time on someone who doesn’t feel the same way?  Why, indeed?

Because we’re called to.  I have yet to read in God’s Word where He tells us to make sure we are loved by others, but time after time, He instructs us to love.  In Romans, He even tells us to prefer others over ourselves!  So, I’ve had to rethink my stand on that quote.  I get it, really I do!  It’s hard to pour into another when they can’t – or won’t! – pour into you.  But, I believe the Bible is clear that God expects us to do just that.  Check these out….

Owe nothing to anyone except to love one another; for he who loves his neighbor has fulfilled the law. ~ Romans 13:8 NASB

A new commandment I give to you, that you love one another, even as I have loved you, that you also love one another. ~ John 13:34 NASB

Be devoted to one another in love. Honor one another above yourselves. ~ Romans 12:10 KJV

This I command you, that you love one another. ~ John 15:7 NASB

Be completely humble and gentle; be patient, bearing with one another in love. ~ Ephesians 4:2 NIV

There were more, but I thought that would be enough to get the point across.  And it goes back to what I’ve said in so many other posts.  God calls us to love.  Him.  Others.  End of story.  If you’re not getting the love you need, then you’re looking to the wrong source.  Seek Him.  He’ll give you exactly what you need to love as He’s called you to.

Be blessed and tell someone you love them!

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

