Hope

Several weeks ago, right after school ended, my two dearest friends gifted me with a hydrangea plant – a purple one!  Okay, really, the color is technically blue, but it looks purple to me, so therefore it is purple.  But, I digress.  When I got the plant, it had one beautiful bloom on it – big and lush and just gorgeous.  I picked out the perfect spot for my hydrangea – plenty of shade and close to my front steps so I can see it every time I walk out my front door.  I didn’t actually name her, but do refer to her as “my baby.”  Soon enough, the bloom on my baby was too droopy to be left on the plant, so I cut it and brought it in to brighten my kitchen for a couple of days.  In the meantime, I was watering my baby faithfully and patiently (well…..kind of patiently) waiting and watching for the next bloom.  The leaves were so green and lush, I was just sure that the next flower would pop out at any minute!  When, a couple of weeks later, I still didn’t have a bloom or even a sign of a bloom, I asked my landscaping cousin what I was doing wrong.  He assured me that I was taking great care of the plant, to just be patient.  I was being patient!  I had waited, like, two weeks already!  What was taking that dumb plant so long to bloom?  The next morning, I noticed the teeniest, tiniest bud forming.  I was elated!  Soon, I’d be looking at another big, lush bloom on my plant!  I quickly learned, however, that nothing happens fast on a hydrangea plant.  Here I am, weeks later, and the flower that I’ve so carefully monitored, still hasn’t bloomed completely.  But, the promise of what I know it’s going to look like has driven me out the front door each morning, watering can in hand.  The bloom is already beautiful, but in just a day or two, it will be simply stunning.  And, although my impatience almost got the best of me, it has been well worth the wait!

Isn’t life like that?  We want what we want when we want it…..which is always NOW!  But, our loving Heavenly Father doesn’t work that way.  His path often doesn’t seem like the best, quickest way.  But, He has so many lessons (and blessings!) for us on the meandering path He leads us on.  How often have you felt like the wait for what you know He’s promised has been too long?  How often have you been ready to just give up?  Don’t give up!  Keep faith alive!  Keep watering that plant…..that seed of hope….with prayer, His Word, fellowship with other believers.  Soon enough, you’ll see the signs of life blooming. 

What are you waiting for?  Love?  A new job?  Children?  A friend?  Healing?  Be patient.  Enjoy the journey.  Learn to love time with your Daddy, His Word, His children.  He will reward your faithfulness – our God always keeps His promises!

Delight yourself in the LORD; And He will give you the desires of your heart.                     ~ Psalm 37:4 NASB

Hope deferred makes the heart sick, But desire fulfilled is a tree of life.                                 ~ Proverbs 13:12 NASB

Be blessed and tell someone that you love them!

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

