Water!

If you read my “Hope” post, then you are already familiar with my love for a certain hydrangea plant.  I refer to her as my baby and treat her as such.  And we’ll all just pretend that I don’t really talk to her when I’m giving her water every morning!  Here’s a picture of my baby taken a week or so ago, with a big, beautiful bloom….

Last week, the fam and I got the opportunity to travel to Church Hill, Tennessee to help with a Vacation Bible School.  We had an amazing time teaching kids about God and His promises.  When I came home, however, I was saddened to see my baby looking like this…

I was a very sad Hydrangea mom!  Apparently, she didn’t get quite as much water as she needed.  See, hydrangeas aren’t too hard to care for, but they like water…LOTS of water…and not too much sun.  So, my baby is planted in a place where she only gets a little direct sun each day (and where I can see her every time I walk out my front door) and I water her thoroughly each morning.  As I was lavishing my baby with lots of water (and apologizing profusely!), I thought about the spiritual parallel.  My thought pattern actually went in two directions, so if you’ll be patient with me, I’ll try to explain both!  (Oh….and you need to know that within a couple of hours, my baby was already looking much better!)

First, I thought of our earthly relationships – whether it be with our spouse, family or friends.  When we neglect the relationships in our lives, they wither.  Our loved ones need…well…love.  Haha….yep, looks like we’re going to talk about it again!  Just as my hydrangea needs water, our loved ones need to be “watered” with love.  (It makes me think of a James Taylor song “Just shower the people you love with love
Show them the way that you feel…”).

But, this theory also applies to one other, very important, relationship – the one with our Heavenly Father.  When we’re neglecting that relationship, we’re going to feel like my poor baby without water – dry, thirsty, wilted.  And, how do we love God?  Time.  Time with Him, worshiping at His feet, praising His name, reading His Word.  When we spend that time, putting Him first above all others, He rains His Spirit down on us and we’re revived, much like the hydrangea. 

So….how are you feeling?  Are you full, vibrant, healthy?  Or has life made you thirsty?  Try some Living Water!

 Jesus answered and said unto her, Whosoever drinketh of this water shall thirst again:  But whosoever drinketh of the water that I shall give him shall never thirst; but the water that I shall give him shall be in him a well of water springing up into everlasting life. ~ John 4:13-14 KJV

Be blessed and show somebody some love!

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

