The Potter’s Wheel

Sometimes, I think I wish that life would just be…easy.  Easy like I thought it was going to be….ya know?  I remember, as a kid, thinking how glad I’d be when I was a grown-up and knew everything and could do exactly what I wanted to do.  Well….here I am, past forty and I’m still waiting for that grown-up thing to happen!  Of course, now what I know is that if we’re living for God, if we’re pursuing lives of righteousness….if we’re living at all!….we’re going to have troubles.  And we won’t always have the answers.  And, we most certainly cannot do exactly what we want to do!  However difficult life seems to be sometimes, though, I’m thankful that my God loves me enough to fix what needs to be fixing in me.  Sometime this week, as I was looking for the off button to this merry-go-round my life has become, it occurred to me that maybe, just maybe, this was really the Potter’s Wheel and I needed to be still and let Him do what needs to be done.  This poem is the result of that thought process.  Hope it blesses someone!

Back on the wheel again,
Put there by Your mighty hand.
A scary place, yet absolutely safe,
Knowing Your love will mold me.
Still, a fear lingers,
Knowing Your molding can come with pain.
 
Humbly, I offer my heart,
Eager to see what You will make
Of the mess I tend to be.
I yield my will,
Believing Your promises
That You will fulfill Your purpose for me.
 
I am amazed at Your love
That reaches for His daughter,
When I need to be reshaped.
I pray my heart is soft and willing
To offer myself to Your loving hand
And that, in me, Your glory will be seen.

 

But now, O LORD, You are our Father, We are the clay, and You our potter;
And all of us are the work of Your hand. ~ Isaiah 64:8

 

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

