What’s the Truth?

My teenager is dealing with something this week that we all eventually face, but that every parent hopes to put off as long as possible – the death of a peer.  When I was that age, the telephone was the way news traveled and…oh boy!…can people mess up a story!  (There’s even a game called “telephone” where a phrase or sentence is whispered from one person to the next until everyone in the circle has heard it.  The fun part is to hear how vastly different the ending message is from the beginning one!)  Now, though, the favorite form of communication seems to be Facebook.  What we have is a much quicker, more efficient way to deliver news – whether it be right or wrong.  Unfortunately, the details being passed around about the teen’s death weren’t exactly accurate.  The hearsay was wrong.  His distraught mom discovered it and blasted the kids who had unknowingly passed along the inaccurate, hurtful report.  My girl felt horrible and apologized.  She later posed this question to me “But, if everyone’s telling the wrong story, how do we know what the truth is?”  Ah….good question!

We battle that daily as followers of Christ, who are trying to live the lives God has purposed for us.  Plenty of people – even Christians – are getting the story all wrong, making it difficult to know truth.  Of course, the short answer is:  Read your Bible.  There’s where truth lies.  But, in a time when not even all Christians believe the Bible is one hundred percent true, the task seems daunting.  I believe the answer is the same as it was with the story of the teen’s death – go to the source.  Just as that mom set everyone straight with the true story, our Heavenly Father will do the same for us.  We can’t rely on hearsay, tradition, pretty words, intuition or our own rationalization.  Only God can reveal truth to us.  John 17:17 says “Your word is truth.”

So, I pose this question to you.  Are you believing the telephone version or trusting fully in God’s Word?

Be blessed and tell someone you love them!

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

