Giant Chickens and Clowns

Saturday, I had a clown gig.  I was invited to a “back to school bash” at Bojangles in Rockingham.  Now….here’s the thing….Rockingham is about 77 miles away from my house and there are a LOT of Bojangles between here and there!  I don’t have a GPS, so I use the old-fashioned thing….Google directions.  Problem is, I tend to forget to check my mileage, so I’m usually guessing at how many more miles I’ve got to go.  So…when I had been traveling about the right amount of time, I was beginning to wonder why I hadn’t found my Bojangles yet.  Everytime I saw an orange roof, I wondered “is this it?”  I’ve learned to look for the extra trappings that come with these sorts of celebrations – a tent, a race car….a giant chicken…hahaha.  So, I knew very quickly that those other Bojangles’s just weren’t the right ones.  The thought occurred to me, as I was searching for Bo the Chicken, that life is like that. 

So often, when we’re praying for a certain thing, when something that looks close to what we’re expecting pops up, we start asking “is this it?”  Just like I’ve learned to look for the extras – confirmations, if you will – to know I have the right Bojangles, I believe God sends us confirmation to know that what we’re seeing is His answer to prayer.  Sometimes, it’s so exactly what we prayed for we just know.  But, other times, we need that confirmation.  No, they don’t normally come in the form of chickens or race cars….sometimes it’s as simple as an offhand statement by a fellow believer.  Or the perfect verse popping out of the Bible at us at the perfect time.  Or a sermon that speaks exactly to our situation.  Just as we’re all different, I believe these confirmations can be different, but when looked at all together are more than just coincidences.

Have you been praying for something specific?  Tired of the orange roofs being the wrong thing?  Keep looking, the giant chicken is just around the corner!

Be blessed and tell someone you love them!

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

