Reluctant Golfer

Those of you who know us know that my girl is a golfer.  A good, albeit reluctant, one.  At age thirteen she was shooting scores that would be the level that colleges are looking for.  Since we are not wealthy people and my girl doesn’t love to make good grades in school, we feel like a golf scholarship may be the best thing to aim for to get her into one of the colleges of her choice.  Which, right now, are UNC Chapel Hill and Hawaii Pacific University.  Yeah, she dreams big!  So, golf is it.  There’s one little problem.  The girl no longer likes to golf.  She is golfing on her school’s team, but has declared that she will not like it.  This mom gets pretty frustrated that she is such a gifted golfer, but doesn’t seem compelled to use her God-given gift.  It was as I was fuming about this to God that He reminded me that I don’t always use the gifts He gave me either.  Ouch.

We are all gifted with something.  And, yes, I can hear you know….many of you are declaring you are giftless.  Not true.  Just because you haven’t discovered your gift doesn’t mean you don’t have one.  One of my gifts is writing.  Yeah, I know….the shock factor just isn’t there.  I have others, too.  And sometimes I just get too wrapped up in life to use them. 

How about you?  What is your gift?  Encouragement?  If so, when’s the last time you sent someone a sweet note to let them know you were thinking of them and praying for them?  Is it helps?  What are you putting your hand to in God’s kingdom?  How about music?  Are you playing for His glory?  The list goes on.  Maybe the thing you do doesn’t seem like a gift to you.  But, let me assure you, it’s a gift to the person you bless with it.

So….what’s your gift?  Are you using it?  Why not?  We’re not talking a scholarship to college here….this is much larger.  This is for God’s Kingdom.  This is about eternity.  This is about hearing “Well done, good and faithful servant!” Matt 25:21  This is about Him.

Be blessed and show someone you love them!

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

