Dancing Around the Truth

A couple of weeks ago, I passed by a church sign that obviously was almost involved in a collision.  Although the church sits far off the road, the sign is quite close to the road.  It’s one of those brick and marquee ones.  You know….the marquee to tell what’s going on, while the brick makes it look more like a traditional sign.  This day, around the sign, were deep tire impressions.  Clearly, someone had lost control of their car and skidded all around the church sign, leaving deep ruts in their wake.  I was amazed at how the driver had managed to avoid the sign.  There he (or she!) was all around it, but never quite touching it.

Sometimes, we can be that way with God’s truth.  We know it.  We go to church and hear it.  It’s easy to pick up on….and sometimes point out….others’ sins.  But, somehow we miss it for ourselves.  We dance around the truth, never quite grasping it.  And, I’m not talking about the sold-out Christian who loves the Lord with all their heart, but still has a couple of areas they need to work on.  I believe as long as we’re alive, we’ll be working on some part of us.  I’m talking about the folks who live any way they want to, but claim Jesus as their own.  The Bible is very clear when it says over and over “keep my commandments.”  Exodus 15:26, 20:6, Leviticus 26:3, Deuteronomy 4:40, and Joshua 22:5 are just a few of the scriptures that urge us to keep God’s commandments.  And for those of you who are yelling “but that’s Old Testament!” try these on for size…

“If you love Me, keep My commandments.”  John 14:15 NKJV

Circumcision is nothing and uncircumcision is nothing, but keeping the commandments of God is what matters. 1 Corinthians 7:19 NKJV

He who says, “I know Him,” and does not keep His commandments, is a liar, and the truth is not in him. 1 John 2:4 NKJV

…all New Testament, the first one spoken by Jesus Himself.  And these are only a few of the many.  So…what truth are you dancing around today?  Are you sure you’re really living for Him?  Is the truth really in you?  As a church sign I saw recently pointed out, eternity is a long time to be wrong.

Be blessed and tell someone that you love them!

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

