Friends….Best Friends

As I was looking through old posts, trying to remember if I had written about the subject that was burning in me this morning, I noticed quite a few posts that mentioned my best friend.  Hmmm….didn’t realize she had shown up in so many posts!  It made me think about what an important part of my life she is.  When I met her, I was praying fervently for a best friend and thought, perhaps, I just was one of those folks who aren’t meant to have one.  Now, understand…I love my husband.  With my whole heart!  He is an amazing husband and father and I am so very blessed to have him.  And, he is sorta my best friend in that I tell him everything.  In fact, I think often he wishes I wouldn’t share quite so much!  But, like many women, I need female companionship.  We were never meant to be alone.  The LORD God said, “It is not good for the man to be alone.  Genesis 2:18  See….God said so!  Yes, this passage is talking about making Eve for Adam, but some of the most powerful love stories in the Bible aren’t between a man and a woman, but between friends.

One of my favorite books of the Bible is Ruth.  The love that Ruth showed for her mother-in-law is a powerful example of what it truly means to be a friend.  For me, I see the influence that Naomi must have had on Ruth to make her turn from everything she knew to follow this woman.  Naomi must have been an incredible friend to Ruth.  Ruth, then responded in love by following Naomi to Bethlehem and helping her.  Then Naomi told Ruth what to do to capture Boaz’s attention.  We see each of them giving all they could to help the other. 

Another favorite friend story is one everyone knows – David and Jonathan.  I’m sure you’ve heard sermon after sermon about this friendship.  Lord knows I have.  But, when I found myself blessed with a new friend….that best friend I’d been praying for….I started digging in the Word for direction.  We all know that Jonathan loved David “as himself.” 1 Samuel 18:1 and that it was an instant knitting of souls – something only our God can do.  The part of the story that astounded me was the lament David wrote/sang after Jonathan and Saul were killed. 

O my dear brother Jonathan,
      I’m crushed by your death.
   Your friendship was a miracle-wonder,
      love far exceeding anything I’ve known—
      or ever hope to know.  2 Sam 1:26 The Message

Wow.  This was not a casual friendship these men shared!  Yes, we knew that Jonathan had given David his “Prince Apparel” and had saved David’s life, but this one verse said it all.  This was a deep, abiding, godly love shared by two men whose souls were knitted together by God.  Which brings me back to my best friend….

As I said, I had been begging God for a best friend.  However, I was completely unprepared for the love I would have for her.  I don’t think we hear a lot about this kind of love.  Most friendships in the world we live in are surface, casual, easy friendships.  We stick with it while it’s fun, then we move on to the next friend in line.  But, when Proverbs says “a friend loves at all times,” I don’t think God was referring to an easy, casual friendship.  I think He was referring to a deep, abiding, committed friendship…like Jonathan and David, Naomi and Ruth, Jesus and us. 

So.  Do you have a best friend?  A friend who’s in it for the long haul?  Who’s going to love you when you’re unlovable?  Be good to them.  Love them.  Care for them….more than you care for yourself.  And, if you find yourself looking at your friendships and find them coming up short, ask God what He wants you to do about it.  Perhaps there’s a person who needs you as a best friend.

Be blessed!  And tell someone you love them!

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

