Sandtrap

As you may know….and if you don’t, give me a minute, I’ll brag….my girl is a golfer.  A really good one.  She took a year off because she felt too stressed, it wasn’t cool, blah, blah, blah.  We supported her decision, despite the fact that it was hard watching her throw away the gift God had given her.  At the beginning of the school year, I made her join the golf team.  She had golfed only once in the prior year and hated me for making her pick it back up.  But, I had the inkling that she would hate me more if she got to adulthood and I hadn’t made her do the right thing….no matter how hard it was. 

This week, I had the opportunity to go to the NC Girls Golf State Championships in Pinehurst, NC to watch my baby girl play….as a freshman!  What an accomplishment!  We’ve truly had a bad year, but despite that, she pressed through, played the best she could and made it to the state championships.  Yes, I am a proud mama!  And, of course, God had a couple of lessons in it for me. 

Golf is such a great parallel for real life.  Although my girl played well, she wasn’t playing her best.  But, she stuck with it.  Even when she hit the sand.  Yes, the bane of every golfer….the dreaded sand hazard.  The goal, of course, is to stay out of the hazard.  But, sometimes, your ball drops in there anyway.  That’s when it’s time to pull out a wedge, position your feet just so and dig deep….literally, you hit the sand beneath the ball to move it out of the trap. 

Sometimes, in life, you fall in a sand trap.  Depression.  Discouragement.  Derailment.  Maybe life has dealt you a hand you just hadn’t planned on.  Maybe you made a bad decision….or two….or twenty.  For whatever the reason, sometimes we find ourselves in that place that we would rather not be in.  I think that’s a good time to follow the rules of a golf ball in a sand trap:  stand still, dig deep, and hit it the best you can.

Be still and know that God is still on the throne.  He’s not surprised or confused at where you are and He alone has the answer.  Dig deep into His word and your time alone with Him.  Listen and He’ll speak.  Then, hit it hard!  Obey.  Take the first step in the direction He sends you.  You may not be exactly where you wanted on the green, but you’ll be that much closer to the hole.  And so much closer to Him!

Are you in a sandtrap today?  You know what to do….be patient, you’ll get out.  If you’re not in one….good!  Find someone who is and encourage them – your voice may be the very one they need to hear to get out of the trap.

Be blessed today and tell someone you love them!

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

