Vacuum

Earlier this year, the dear husband was diagnosed with diabetes.  We were very surprised, but the diagnosis made some puzzling symptoms make sense.  He started taking his meds and eating correctly and suddenly I had my husband back!  You see, because his sugar levels were messed up, he was tired, not thinking correctly and (forgive me!) grumpy.  The lesson that seemed so obvious was this – nothing happens in a vacuum.  Everything we do affects everyone around us (and others, but more on that later).  So, when he felt better, life was better for everyone in the family.  When he wasn’t feeling well, he wasn’t able to help out as much, he didn’t feel like doing the fun stuff…basically, he was taking more than he was able to give.  Now, please know, I’m not criticizing!  He was sick.  He couldn’t help it.  He didn’t understand what was going on, so therefore he couldn’t correct it.  On the other hand, since he now knows what happens when he doesn’t take care of himself, I get very upset when he doesn’t.  Because it puts more strain on me, the kids and everyone he comes into contact with. 

Our spiritual life is no different.  There are things we have to do to keep ourselves well spiritually.  When we are not well spiritually, it puts extra strain on everyone around us.  God has to raise folks up to tend to us spiritually, as well as raising others up to tend to the things He normally has for us to do.  Now, there are times when we simply can’t help it.  We get tired, battle-worn, sick.  I believe that God sends us exactly what we need (or who!) when we need it in these situations and that He means for us to tend one another when we’re in this position.  In Galatians 6:2, the Bible says we are to bear or carry one another’s burdens.  Sometimes, we have so much on us, we simply can’t do it alone.  So, the ones on the mountain top are to reach down and help those in the valley climb the mountain.

The flip side, of course, is those who simply won’t do what they need to do to stay well spiritually.  Pray.  Read the Word.  Spend time with fellow believers.  Obey.  When you refuse to do what you need to do and then get “sick” from it, you don’t affect just you.  Because nothing happens in a vacuum.  You affect everyone around you.  And you affect folks you don’t even know.  Because the stranger in the grocery store may have needed the smile you were supposed to give them.  Or the teacher you just leveled with your less-than-godly comment may go home to a family not prepared for her grumpiness. 

Have you lost your peace?  Examine your life.  Are you doing what you’re supposed to do?  How much time have you spent with your Savior today, this week, this month?  Sit at His feet awhile, you’ll feel much better!

And….if you haven’t lost your peace, look around for someone who has.  Step alongside them and help carry their burdens.  Pray for them.  Encourage them.  Love them. 

Be blessed today!  (and tell someone you love them!)

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

