SONshine

This morning, as I stepped out of the house to take the little man to school, I noticed the weather felt different.  A little wet, not too chilly, sun trying to shine.  I stayed in the school a few minutes longer than normal because I was talking to his teacher.  As I was driving home, I noticed that, in the short amount of time I was in the school, a fog had settled over the neighborhood.  It was so thick in places that I could only see a few houses ahead of me.  From the top of one of the many hills in my ‘hood, I could see the fog actually laying over the houses, like a blanket.  I marveled at how quickly and completely it obliterated so many things from view.  The tops of the trees, the houses down the street, the other end of the creek were all hidden underneath that thick fog. 

Don’t you think life is like that?  We’ve all heard the statement that a person was “walking around like they’re in a fog.”  Life happens and takes us by surprise and before we know it, the things we know to be true seem to be obliterated by the reality that is in our face.  I believe it’s one of the enemy’s best tactics.  Yes, it’s completely normal to be sidelined by major life events.  Death, new baby, loss of a job, new job, betrayal by a spouse or friend or family member, accident….life is full of surprises.  And often those surprises (sometimes even the good ones!) so overwhelm us, we can no longer see the truths that God has already shown us.  Like the tops of the trees, His promises seem to elude us.  But, like the tops of those trees, just because we can’t see the evidence doesn’t mean it’s not there. 

Hebrews 11:1 says “Faith assures us of things we expect and convinces us of the existence of things we cannot see.” (GOD’S Word Translation).  The King James Version says it this way “Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen.”  Either way it’s pretty clear, when we can’t see the tops of the trees, we have to have faith that they’re still there.  In a physical fog, that’s easy to do.  We don’t look at the tops of those trees and think that suddenly they all fell off.  We wait for the sun to burn through the fog so we can again see the branches stretching into the sky.  But, how about a spiritual fog?  Do you suddenly doubt everything you know to be true?  Do you begin doubting God’s goodness and mercy and love?  Do you forget everything He promised you?  Hang on.  Soon enough, the Son will burn through that fog.  You’ll look around and see His blessings in abundance.  While you wait though, remember that the blessings are there even now.  Just because you’re not feeling doesn’t mean He isn’t doing it!

If you’re in a fog today, I pray that God will meet you in the midst of it and remind you of how good He really is!

As I was writing, it reminded me of a song I used to sing as a kid.  Remarkably, one of my most vivid memories about it was Pebbles and Bam Bam singing it on The Flintstones.  (yes, I just told my age!)  So…here’s the song….

 Mommy told me something a little child should know,
It’s all about the devil and I’ve learned to hate him so.
She said he causes trouble if you let him in the room.
He will never ever leave you if your heart is filled with gloom.

CHORUS:

So let the sunshine in. Face it with a grin.
Smilers never lose and frowners never win.
So let the sunshine in. Face it with a grin.
Open up you heart and let the sunshine in.

2. If I forget to say my prayers the devil jumps with glee,
But he feels so awful, awful when he sees me on my knees.
If you’re full of trouble and you never seem to win
Just open up your heart and let the sunshine in.

How amazing that such a profound truth can be held in the words of a simple children’s song.  Okay….everyone sing with me “So let the SON shine in….”

Be blessed today!  And tell someone you love them.

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

