Watch Your Mouth!

I’m angry.  Very angry, in fact.  And hurt.  You see…I’m tired of the enemy of our souls convincing us that what comes out of our mouths doesn’t matter as long as we follow up with “just kidding” or an apology.  The most offensive is “I’m sorry if what I said hurt you.”  If.  Well, if you’re apologizing, then you know that what came out of your mouth probably wasn’t wholesome.  On the other hand…maybe no apology is the most offensive.  *sigh*  I don’t know.

Several weeks ago, I was walking down the hallway of the elementary school after dropping off the little man.  And, I heard a girl reciting “sticks and stones may break my bones but words will never hurt me.”  I remember being told to sing-song that to people who hurled insults at me as a child.  There’s one little problem with it…it’s a lie!  Words hurt!  They maim.  They kill.  Not physically, but emotionally.  If words really weren’t important, then why would the Bible tell us to watch our tongues….to watch what we say?  Want some examples?  Good, I was hoping so….

The words of the reckless pierce like swords, but the tongue of the wise brings healing.  Proverbs 12:18 NIV

Kind words heal and help; cutting words wound and maim.  Proverbs 15:4 The Message

Death and life are in the power of the tongue, And those who love it will eat its fruit.  Proverbs 18:21 NASB

He who guards his mouth and his tongue, Guards his soul from troubles.  Proverbs 21:23 NASB

If anyone thinks himself to be religious, and yet does not bridle his tongue but deceives his own heart, this man’s religion is worthless.  James 1:26 NASB

A bit in the mouth of a horse controls the whole horse. A small rudder on a huge ship in the hands of a skilled captain sets a course in the face of the strongest winds. A word out of your mouth may seem of no account, but it can accomplish nearly anything—or destroy it! It only takes a spark, remember, to set off a forest fire. A careless or wrongly placed word out of your mouth can do that. By our speech we can ruin the world, turn harmony to chaos, throw mud on a reputation, send the whole world up in smoke and go up in smoke with it, smoke right from the pit of hell.  James 3:3-6 The Message

Those are some strong warnings.  I could go on a rant or tirade at this point, because I’m really feeling it.  But, I think it would do no good.  Instead, I’m going to stop and let the Lord speak to whomever needs it.  And, yes, sometimes that someone is me.

Be blessed and tell someone that you love them.

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

