Hang Up and Drive!

Yesterday, I had the….ummm…..opportunity to drive to Harris Blvd in the rain because the dear husband took the one set of keys to the car mom wanted to drive to the beach.  (side note: no, I was not a good sport about it and had to apologize!).  Anyway…on my way up Interstate 85, I somehow got behind a car going very slow.  Mind you, it was raining…but not that hard.  The spray from the other cars made seeing difficult, though.  When I finally got a chance, I went around the slow driver because, let’s face it….a slow driver only clogs things up and when cars get bunched up going that fast, they’re more likely to crash.  Dad always told me to stay away from the crowd.  Hmmm….good advice on many levels, but we’ll save that for another blog.  So, when I passed the slow car, I saw the problem…the driver was on the phone!  In the rain.  On the interstate.  At a very busy, clogged part of the road.  That spot is difficult enough to navigate without the other factors of holiday traffic and rain….but then add to that the fact that this man was so deeply engrossed in his conversation that he wasn’t paying attention to the road and the fact that he was creating a hazard on the road.  My response was something along the lines of “grrrrr.”  But, this isn’t a rant on driving habits.  As usual, I saw a spiritual parallel.

You see….sometimes life is pretty easy.  You do what you’re supposed to do, add a few extra things, love Jesus and life goes the way you expect…it’s easy to focus on the One Who is most important and juggle the other stuff.  But, sometimes life isn’t easy….not at all.  That would be the rain falling.  If we’re lucky, if only rains a little and we can muddle through, living life as normal and hanging on til the rain passes.  Or….the rain pours….for a long time.  You start feeling like Noah.  Nothing goes the way you expect and life just gets hard.  Really hard.  And it gets hard to focus on anything…including the God Who loves us and Whom we love.  That’s when it’s time to cast aside the extra stuff and fix our gaze on God.  Only in Him can we find our peace, our purpose.  Soon enough, the rain will pass and life won’t be so hard.  Until then….if you’re in the rain….hang up and drive!

Be blessed and show somebody some love!

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

