Who You Gonna Call?

Yesterday marked exactly one year since my dad was diagnosed with bladder cancer…and three months since he died.  I miss him more than I ever could have imagined.  As I sit here, trying to decide where God is going with this blog today, I’m listening to the political news in the background.  And I can’t help but think that if my dad were here, I wouldn’t need to listen to this junk…he would have listened to and read every snippet of information regarding the whole thing and would already be mapping out who we would all be voting for!  I found it amusing that my mom, sister and I all had the same response in the first days after dad passed.  It was “Who’s gonna tell us who to vote for???”  I saw that, yesterday, my sister had posted how she wished she could just pick up the phone and ask his advice.  How often I think that.  But, this isn’t a sad, morose blog, so let’s get on to the point.  I still have a Dad.  Yes, my biological dad is in heaven (praise God for that!  and that story is another blog!) and I will see him again, but I have a Dad I can talk to….and hear from….now. 

Our Heavenly Father wants a relationship with us.  It’s so much more than saying a prayer at an altar, then boom! you go to heaven when you die.  It’s a life-long love affair.  Jeremiah 31:3 tells us that God has loved us with an everlasting love.  And the Bible is page after page of the telling of that love.  Check these out…

As for me, I shall call upon God, And the LORD will save me.  Psalm 55:16

And the Lord will continually guide you, and satisfy your desire in scorched places and give strength to your bones; and you will be like a watered garden, and like a spring of water who waters do not fail. Isaiah 58:11

I will go before you and make the rough places smooth.  Isaiah 45:2

Yet those who wait for the Lord will gain new strength; they will mount up with wings like eagles, they will run and not get tired, they will walk and not become weary.  Isaiah 40:31

I have chosen you and not rejected you.  Do not fear, for I am with you; do not anxiously look about you, for I am your God.  I will strengthen you, surely I will help you, surely I will uphold you with My righteous right hand.  Isaiah 41:9b-10.

For God so loved the world, that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him shall not perish, but have eternal life.  John 3:16

For God has not given us a spirit of timidity, but of power and love and discipline.  2 Timothy 1:7

Rejoice in the Lord always; again I will say, rejoice!  Let your gentle spirit be known to all men.  The Lord is near.  Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God.  And the peace of God, which surpasses all comprehension, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.  Philippians 4:4-7

But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control; against such things there is no law.  Galatians 5:22-23

“and lo, I am with you always, even to the end of the age.”  Matthew 28:20

This is just a smattering of verses that tell us that God loves us, He’s with us, He wants us to communicate with Him, He will fill us with good stuff like joy and peace.  And these are just a few!  Dig in His Word!  Mine out some of these treasures for yourselves!  And for those of you who are shaking your heads, asking how on earth you can have a relationship with One you’ve never seen, I offer this: ask Him.  Deuteronomy 4:29 says “But from there you will seek the LORD your God, and you will find Him if you search for Him with all your heart and all your soul.”

Dear Heavenly Father, thank You for Your Word.  I ask You to make Yourself real in a whole new way to each and every soul who may read these words.  Stir in their hearts and draw them to a closer relationship with You.  In Jesus’ sweet precious name, amen.

Be blessed and show somebody some love today!

**all verses are from the NASB

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

