Be Nice!

If you know me, you know that I’m not really a country music fan.  I have very eclectic taste in music and there are country artists I like, but most of the time, I’m just not willing to wade through the junk to get to the voices I like….you know, like Vince Gill.  My oh my can that man sing!  His voice is so….but, I digress.  You see, a friend texted some lyrics to me this morning that she had heard on the radio.  Because I don’t listen to country, I had never heard them and, in true Leigh fashion, had to look them all up…and the video.  Hilarious! 

The name of the song is “It’s Hard to Kiss the Lips at Night That Chew Your A** Out All Night Long.”  (slightly censored)  It’s sung by The Notorious Cherry Bombs, which apparently is a group Vince Gill was in before he hit it big.  Well, they’re back together, have added the word “notorious” to their name and have a hilarious song out.  (This may all be old news to you, but it’s new to me, so bear with me.)  I watched the video twice….make that three…..uh, four….times….and read the lyrics and sat here, alone, laughing like a crazy person.   It’s rude, irreverent, funny…and true. 

Ya know….there’s an old axiom that says “you draw more flies with honey than with vinegar.”  There’s a reason that saying has been around so long….I don’t think the principal applies to strictly marriage, either.  The Bible says to have friends, we must show ourselves friendly.  (Proverbs 18:24)  It says to love each other as we love ourselves.  (Mark 12:31)  It even says to love each other as Christ showed love.  (ouch.  John 13:34)  So….what I get from all this….and the song….is what you probably already know.  You gotta be nice if you want people to hang out with you!  You can’t be mean all the time then expect folks to pick up the phone and invite you out.  You can’t be mean to your spouse during the day, then expect loving in the evening.

So….despite my giggling….God used to song to simply remind me of one of His truths.  We need to be nice to each other.  Married or not.  Friends or not.  Christian or not.  Be nice.  We’ll draw far more people to ourselves….and to HIM…by being kind, generous, thoughtful…nice.

Be blessed and tell someone you love them!

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

