The Quiet Ones

Yesterday, I had a couple of hours to myself, so I decided to go shopping….well, mostly looking.  But, on the way, I had to travel Interstate 85.  Traffic was heavy, but then….it always is these days.  So, I needed to change lanes because mine was quickly turning into an exit ramp.  I could barely see a car lurking in my blind spot in the lane I needed to be in (thanks, Dad for the extra mirrors!).  I sped up a bit to get over and the driver of the other car sped up.  Then I slowed down, thinking I could drop in behind him, and he slowed down.  Frustrated, I did what I would normally do anyway….punched the gas and shot in front of him.  It was then that I could see his car enough to realize he had his turn signal on.  He needed to be in my lane and was politely using his signal to tell me….even though he was riding in my blind spot and I couldn’t see him.

It occurred to me that we encounter people like that everyday.  Quietly, they are trying to tell us what they need, but often we’re too close, or too busy with our own agenda to pay attention.  To those people, I want to say….speak up!  But, that’s not what my blog’s about.  It’s to those who ignore the quiet pleas for attention.

Look around you.  Is there a soul who needs some love that you’ve overlooked?  Have you been too busy with life to reach out and give someone a hand?  If not….good for you!  But, if you’re like the rest of us, and get wrapped up in your own stuff, I say….step back.  Don’t worry so much about where you’re going and what you’re doing that you miss the polite requests for help.

 And he opened his mouth, and taught them, saying,

 Blessed are the poor in spirit: for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

 Blessed are they that mourn: for they shall be comforted.

 Blessed are the meek: for they shall inherit the earth.

 Blessed are they which do hunger and thirst after righteousness: for they shall be filled.

 Blessed are the merciful: for they shall obtain mercy.

 Blessed are the pure in heart: for they shall see God.

 Blessed are the peacemakers: for they shall be called the children of God. ~Matthew 5:2-9

Be blessed and tell someone you love them!

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

