The Little Things

I am blessed to have the opportunity to occasionally work for some friends who own a photography business.  They do sports pictures and I write down numbers.  Yep, hard job.  I enjoy it….it puts extra money in my pocket, I get to hang out with people….and it gives me fodder for my blog.  God is good!

So, last night, we were doing basketball pictures in a relatively small room.  I’d give you dimensions, but I am such a girl when it comes to those sorts of things!  Let’s just say the room seemed pretty large until we crammed a bunch of kids and their parents into it!  I love the hubbub, seeing the kids, talking to the parents, but it can get loud.  And, those who know me, know that loud noises get to me.  I’m one of those moms who yells “it’s so loud I can’t think!” 

At one point, we had three or four teams….that’s about nine or ten kids plus a parent or two per kid….in the room.  The schedule had gotten…ummm….confused.  It got really loud and was difficult to hear the photographer yell out the numbers…especially since he doesn’t really yell and expects me to read his mind like his wife does.  But, I digress.  As usual.  As I was trying to line up kids, answer parents’ questions, and hear the numbers I was supposed to write down, I noticed an extremely annoying noise.  Kind of high-pitched.  Electronic.  I looked up from what I was doing and noticed a kid had plopped his iPad down on my table and was proceeding to annihilate aliens or bugs or….something.  At any rate, it turned the (very loud) white noise into a cacophony that made me want to yell.  Fortunately, the little boy killed his character quickly and then moved on.

It’s funny how the roar of every other noise didn’t bother me too much…yes, it got pretty loud, but it all blended into an acceptable background noise.  But, the electronic bleeping just pushed it into a whole new realm of noisiness.  Kind of like life.  The junk starts blending together and you get used to it.  Then, all of a sudden, the equivalent of a video game comes along and throws everything off-balance.  Suddenly, you feel the need to yell.  And…just like the iPad….the things that really seem to put a kink in your day are the little ones.  The dear husband and I have always laughed about the fact that the big things we generally agree on easily…but the little things?  Ha!  They make us fight like we hate each other! 

I think when we’ve established ourselves, when we’re loving God, really trying to please Him, spending time in His Word, seeking Him, it’s easy to get the big things.  You know, the ten commandment things.  The abomination things.  So, satan uses the little things.  The Song of Solomon says the little foxes ruin the vine.  (2:15)  There’s a Contemporary Christian song that talks about it too, “This Is The Stuff” by Francesca Battistelli.  I like her way of looking at it though….”this is the stuff You use.” 

So, today, I think I will do the same.  I will trust that God knew that the iPads of the world were going to interrupt my day and make lots of noise.  And I will trust that Romans 8:28 is true in even the little situations that satan tries to trip me up with.  And we know that God causes all things to work together for good to those who love God, to those who are called according to His purpose.  (NASB)  Did you catch that?  All things.  For His purpose.  1 Thessalonians 5:18 says “in everything give thanks.”  (also NASB)   I think God’s trying to tell us something here!  Would you like to join me today in giving thanks for the “little things” and trusting that, somehow, God is going to use them?

Be blessed and tell someone you love them! 

…and for those of you who are like me and will need to look up the song now that I’ve mentioned it, let me make it a bit easier…  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xe4SckesWLE

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

