Daffodils!

My best friend told me yesterday that she’s picked daffodils already this year.  I haven’t seen any yet, but I will be keeping my eyes open for them.  I love daffodils!  Always have.  To me, they are the first real promise that, once again, God hasn’t forgotten us and spring is on its way.  They are spots of sunshine in an otherwise barren landscape.  And they smell good!   

A couple of years ago, though, daffodils were given a whole new meaning to me.  My sweet husband was home and I was at work.  When I came home from work, there were two daffodils in a vase in my kitchen.  I thought it was so sweet for him to pick them for me and of course I was very excited.  Then, he told me the story…

 It was late winter….March….and he was helping dad with some yard work.  While wrestling the sticky, pointy yucca plant they were tearing out, dear husband spotted two daffodils.  They were in mom’s flower garden, side by side.  They were the only ones.  And, in them, he saw a confirmation of an answered prayer.

You see, the year before had been hard.  And I had come out of that year better, stronger, closer to God, closer to my husband….and lonely.  I found myself crying out to God, “Lord, I need a friend!”  I had friends.  But, it was the desire of my heart to have a best friend….the one you call first, the one who feels like a part of you, the one who’s always on your side.   And, amazingly, He had made it clear in the weeks prior that I had my best friend.  That I had known her for months.  That He had been growing that friendship without me even realizing it.  I was ecstatic…and a little scared.  What if I heard wrong?  What if she thought I was crazy?  What if, what if, what if…. 

Now, back to the kitchen.  I was exclaiming over how sweet my husband was and sniffing my flowers and just….enjoying their beauty.  It was then that he said “Do you know what I saw in those daffodils?”  Uh….is this a trick question?  Hope I get it right!  “Okay….ummm….there’s two?” I stammered.  He grinned.  “Yeah, but I saw people.  I saw you and your friend.  I saw that after the long, cold, hard winter God had given you the desire of your heart….a best friend.”  What a sweet husband I have!  What a good God I have!  What a cool confirmation He gave me….through the one person whose opinion matters the most.

So….let me ask you this.  Have you been in a winter?  Is everything cold, hard, barren?  Spring is coming!  The daffodils are blooming!  (or so the best friend says!)  And God’s promises are still true.  Hang to them, cling to Him and trust.  The budding trees and blooming flowers and fresh-cut grass are just around the corner.  Thank God for his beautiful reminders!

 Look around you: Winter is over; the winter rains are over, gone!  Spring flowers are in blossom all over.  The whole world’s a choir—and singing!  ~Song of Solomon 2:11-12 The Message

Be blessed and tell someone you love them!

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

