When Others Hurt

I write this morning with a heavy heart.  We received news last night that a family whom we love dearly – though we don’t see them often – lost their baby at birth.  I do not know the details.  But, I know that they were very excited to be welcoming another baby into their family.  So, my heart absolutely breaks for them.

We haven’t spent time with this family in years.  Our paths went in different directions.  Our relationship has been reduced to posts on Facebook.  So, why, you may ask, am I sitting here crying?  Good question.  I’ve been asking it myself.  I think, as a mom, my heart breaks a little anytime I hear about something like this.  But, I think it goes a bit deeper…

The Bible tells us in many places that, as followers of Christ, we are one body. 

The human body has many parts, but the many parts make up one whole body. So it is with the body of Christ.  1 Corinthians 12:12   NLT

He makes the whole body fit together perfectly. As each part does its own special work, it helps the other parts grow, so that the whole body is healthy and growing and full of love.  Ephesians 4:16  NLT

I don’t know about you, but when part of my body hurts, everything in me turns to focus on that one part.  Sometimes, it can even make other parts hurt.  As it is with the body of Christ.  No….I don’t see these friends often.  No….we don’t make each other regular parts of our lives.  But, they are still brothers and sisters in Christ – different parts of the same body that has Christ as the head.  And they have suffered a tremendous loss, an incredible pain I can’t imagine.  They hurt.  And, as a different part of the same body, I hurt with and for them.

Today, I ask you to join me in praying for this sweet family.  That God will meet them in a mighty way and give them the comfort and peace that can only come from Him.  That He will wrap His arms around their hearts and hold them close.  That He will surround them with the love and support they need in this difficult time.

And, I ask you to think.  Is there a part of your body that hurts?  Is there anyway you can help?  Rush to that part and do what you can…even if it’s only letting them know that you love them and are praying.

Be blessed and tell someone that you love them.

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

