It Ain’t Dead Yet!

Last year, when we had some crazy windy weather, a Bradford Pear tree at the school my little man was attending caught the brunt of the storm and lost a huge limb…..then it split and the rest of the tree fell.  There was no way to save the tree – it had split all the way down the trunk and was lying on the ground.  The only thing to be done was to cut it down.  Whoever did the cutting left a stump that is….I don’t know….maybe two feet high.  I found it amusing everytime I looked at it.  Why didn’t the cutter just saw it off at the ground? 

Tuesday, I saw the stump and noticed something curious…it has new growth!  There are little red limbs and leaves sticking out everywhere.  I was shocked because I was sure that tree was dead.  I mean….it looked dead.  It had been sitting there dormant for months.  But…it’s not dead.  I saw the proof!

So….what do you have that’s been sitting dormant?  What, in your life, did you think was dead?  A relationship?  A dream?  Hope?  Faith?  I want to say to you that our God is in the restoration business.  Just because it looks dead from the outside doesn’t mean He’s done with it!

I’m sure you know the story of the dry bones, but I’m going to remind you anyway.  In Ezekiel 37:1-11, the Lord had put the prophet in a valley full of bones…dry bones…very dry bones.  Then asked him if the bones could live.  I’ve got to tell you….I think I would’ve laughed and then responded “uh….no!”  But Ezekiel remembered what we often forget….God can do anything.  So, his response was much better than mine would’ve been.  He said “Sovereign LORD, you alone know.”  (NIV)  God instructed him to prophesy over the bones and, sure enough, they started rattling and coming together.  The bones got tendons and muscle and skin, but had no breath.  God again instructed Ezekiel to prophesy…this time that the four winds would give them breath.  And, a vast army was suddenly standing where the dry bones had been.

Look around your valley.  You got any dry bones that God’s instructing you to prophesy over?  What have you given up on that God hasn’t?  Maybe it’s time to give Him the chance to bring life to your dead stuff.

Be blessed and tell someone you love them!

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

