Words With Friends

I broke down about a month ago and joined this century….I got a smart phone.  And now, my newest addiction is Words With Friends.  What fun!  Kind of like scrabble and you play on your phone and you just never know when they’re going to play their next move and you get the notification that….YAY! it’s your turn now!  Today, I decided to challenge my favorite cousin to a game.  Keeps our minds sharp.  But, when I saw my letters, I was quite dismayed.  I had nothing!  I ended up starting with the word “fun.”  Yes, seriously, I started with fun.  I could just see her giggling at me as she opened the game.  But, that was all I had!  She had no way of knowing that, though, and I feel certain she had a bit of fun with it.  Pun intended.

But, sometimes life is like that.  No matter how hard we try, we just can’t seem to get it together and our offering seems so meager.  I imagine others looking at me, shaking their heads going “Wow…really?  That was the best you could do?”  Or, worse, sometimes I look at others that way. 

But….what if that’s the best they can do?  What if one day a week is all they can manage to get to church because of work or family or something else you don’t know about.  What if they had a horrible day and they gave in to their screaming kid because they were at the end of their rope?  What if that was all they could do with what they had to work with?  Because life is a lot like the games of Scrabble and Words With Friends….you never know what the other person is working with.  Yes, sometimes you’re close enough to a person that you know a lot of what’s going on, but you still don’t know everything.  So….give your neighbor a break….maybe they drew all consonants today and just can’t do any better.  Yep, once again, it comes back to the same place….

Jesus answered him, “ ‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all your soul, and with all your mind.’ This is the greatest and most important commandment. The second is like it: ‘Love your neighbor as you love yourself.’    ~  Matthew 22:37-38  GOD’S Word Translation

Be blessed and tell someone you love them!

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Words With Friends

  1. Deb Hatley says:

    love love this ‘meandering’…I’ve had a few ‘consonant’ days lately…this inspires me to give neighbors and myself break too!

Leave a Reply

