Oops

As I said in my last post, I recently got a smart phone.  Most days, I really love it.  Take, for example, the fact that it has a GPS on it.  So, when I forget to google directions (which I prefer to do….it’s a control thing…), I can simply type the address into my phone and Gertrude or Bertha or Florence (we haven’t named the voice yet….) tells me where I should go, turn by turn.  Sometimes, though, despite the fact that Eleanor is directing me in her nasally tone, I still take a wrong turn.  When I was driving last night, I had NO clue where I was going and was having to rely heavily on Minerva.  Problem is….I don’t always see very well at night and although I thought I was turning when she told me to, I actually took a wrong turn….because I couldn’t actually read the street sign.  But….because I couldn’t read the street sign, I didn’t know I had taken a wrong turn….yet.

I was patiently following Bessie’s directions, but started getting very concerned when it was obvious that she was winding me through a neighborhood.  A very dark, curvy neighborhood.  After a few more turns, she had me back where I started.  I was calling her names WAY worse than the ones I’ve used in the blog thus far when I realized that she had rescued me.  Instead of going “you took a wrong turn, figure it out,” Stella patiently guided me back to where I needed to be so I could take the correct turn.  I felt a little….okay, a lot!….stupid, but got where I was going….on time!  (which is a miracle, in and of itself!).  I found myself very thankful for Hilda…and a bit sheepish for calling her names.

Kinda like God, isn’t it?  Sometimes, despite our best efforts, we take a wrong turn.  Maybe we are so excited to be doing His work, we turn a little too quickly (which is what I did last night).  How thankful I am that my God loves me enough to take my wrong turns and make them a part of the trip!  My journey last night took me through a lovely neighborhood, past some huge houses and gorgeous yards.  God is gracious – He does the same thing for us.  Sometimes, the road is winding and you’re unsure, but the scenery…and the lessons learned….are priceless!

Are you feeling a little lost right now?  That’s okay….if you belong to God and you’re seeking Him, you’re probably just on a little side trip.  Hang on, enjoy the scenery, learn the lessons and listen carefully – He’ll lead you to the exact destination that He has in mind!

Be blessed and tell someone you love them!

 PS….I’ve really got to come up with a name for that GPS….Heloise…Maysie…Marabelle…?

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

