Out-Of-Place

This morning, on my way out of the school after delivering little man to his class, I thought to myself…not for the first time….”my boy is so out-of-place here.”  You see, he’s in a high-poverty, low-achieving, largely minority school.  His little white face definitely sticks out.  We didn’t want him there, but after much prayer and pleading with God, it seemed that this school was the one.  We didn’t (and still don’t!) know why, but chose obedience.  It makes me sad, though, to think that my little boy is so out-of-place. 

When I had that thought this morning….the out of place thought….God reminded me that we should feel that way in this world.  The Bible tells us that we are not in our final destination.   The world would love you as one of its own if you belonged to it, but you are no longer part of the world. I chose you to come out of the world, so it hates you.  John 15:19 NLT   We don’t belong to this world and shouldn’t feel like we do.  We should be a bit uncomfortable….like a fish out of water….like my boy in his school.

Because God works the way He does, I got in my van after leaving the school and this was the song playing (by Building 429):

Sometimes it feels like I’m watching from the outside
Sometimes it feels like I’m breathing but am I alive
I won’t keep searching for answers that aren’t here to find

All I know is I’m not home yet
This is not where I belong
Take this world and give me Jesus
This is not where I belong

So when the walls come falling down on me
And when I’m lost in the current of a raging sea
I have this blessed assurance holding me.

All I know is I’m not home yet
This is not where I belong
Take this world and give me Jesus
This is not where I belong

When the earth shakes I wanna be found in You
When the lights fade I wanna be found in You

All I know is I’m not home yet
This is not where I belong
Take this world and give me Jesus
This is not where I belong
[x2]

Where I belong, where I belong
Where I belong, where I belong

So, if you’re thinking “yeah….what they said!”  Please know you’re not alone and you’re supposed to think that way!

Be blessed and tell someone you love them.

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

