Hang On!

Yesterday, I did something I haven’t done in a really long time…I went roller skating.  Yes, old-fashioned roller skating with four wheels, two in front and two in back.  No roller blades for this woman!  The outing was planned for our children at church – most of whom had little or no skating experience, my little man included.  Since I knew my boy was going to need help, I opted to strap on a pair of skates and see if I could stay upright long enough to help him.  Remarkably, I got my footing quickly and was able to help him around the rink without falling.  I quickly noticed that the faster I went, the better he did.  I’m sure there’s some wonderful scientific explanation for it, but here’s what I’m going with….the force of me pulling him along kept him on his feet, much like a bicycle is easier to keep upright when it’s in motion.  Plus, it didn’t give him time to think about what he was doing!

As I was dragging him, and later other children, around the rink, the thought occurred to me that this was much like what we do with new believers….or at least should do.  We grab their hand, assure them that we love them and Christ loves them and even if they fall, we’re going to pick them up, dust them off and just keep going.  And the faster you go, the less likely you are to fall!  We can’t leave babies in Christ alone to flounder – that’s when they’re most vulnerable, flailing about, trying to get their footing in their new existence.  They need love, encouragement, instruction and reassurance.

So….is there someone you know who is floundering in their faith?  Skate alongside and grab their hand – God will bless you both immeasurably.

Be blessed and tell someone you love them.

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

