Repositioning

My husband is one of the sweetest, kindest people you’ll ever meet.  I like to say he’s just “nice.”  Nice might seem like a boring word to label a person but bear with me a second.  Dictionary.com defines “nice” as 1. pleasing; agreeable; delightful.  2. amiably pleasant; kind.  So, to refer to him as nice is really a compliment!  I don’t know that I’ve ever met anyone who didn’t like the dear husband.  (well, maybe a couple, but they had issues!)  He loves the Lord, loves people and is an all-around good guy.  He’s….nice.  =)

My nice husband has worked for the same bank for seventeen years.  Well, okay, not exactly.  He started with a bank that merged with another bank that got bought out by yet another bank.  So, he’s worked for three banks in seventeen years without actually changing jobs.  Since he’s not the one who changed, he gets to claim all of those years experience.  The last few years have been hard.  The latest bank is more about money than people.  Dear husband had a supervisor who disliked him intently and gave him the first bad review he had ever gotten.  The job he had been assigned to was boring and monotonous.  And most of his coworkers were unfriendly.  Clearly not a good fit for Mr. Nice Guy.  But, God said stay. 

So, stay he has.  Faithfully, he goes in each day and does his job.  He really wants to go back to school to do something in the medical field.  He wants to help people and praise God openly.  But, money is tight.  Raises are non-existent.  Folks all around him have been losing their jobs.  “Displacement” they call it.  So, he stays, thankful each time a lay-off occurred and he wasn’t called to the conference room to be let go.  Jobs are hard to come by in this economy.  And, I don’t have a “real” job.  So, he stays, waiting for God’s timing.

Tuesday of this week, my sweet husband called me in the middle of the day, which is pretty unusual for him.  It’s not that it’s unusual for me to talk to him, but normally it’s me bugging him, not the other way around.  Since it was so unusual, I answered, even though chaos was ensuing around me.  “I got my walking papers.” he announced.  Wow.  Yes, we knew it was a possibility.  Yes, were even halfway expecting it.  But, still, the shock of the news was like a fist to the gut.  What happens is that the team is told they have a meeting.  But, only the ones staying actually meet where they are told to….the others are led to a separate room where they are informed that their services are no longer needed.  Three days have passed, the news has sunk in and you may be wondering how we’re taking it.  We’re rejoicing!

God is good and faithful!  His timing is perfect!  The last layoff occurred just before my dad died.  I was sitting at the hospital when the husband called to tell me he had a meeting to go to, don’t try to call.  He knew that the meeting was a layoff meeting and didn’t know if he’d be caught up in this one or not and graciously chose not to tell me.  It was only when the meeting was over that I discovered what it could have been.  But, my God knew I couldn’t deal with that kind of loss right then.  So, he kept his job.  Now, it’s different.  We’re ready for a change and with the severance package he was offered, a career change is possible.  You see, what the bank calls displacement, I call repositioning.  God has scrambled some other things in our life and now, when it’s all laid out, it makes sense.  He has been repositioning us for the task ahead.  I look forward to see what God is going to do with my sweet, obedient husband now that he’s free of that horrible job.

Now, I would be lying if I said we weren’t a bit anxious.  This is a first for us.  There are many decisions to be made.  But, we know that we know that we know that God is in control, that He has ordained this, that He has the plan.  We are thankful and grateful to have a loving Heavenly Father Who cares about us individually and is moving us according to His will.  At this point, we would ask for prayer for wisdom, guidance and peace.  And we would ask that you rejoice with us!  A season has ended and that God is bringing a new one around and whatever happens, we want to be careful to give Him the glory!

‘For I know the plans that I have for you,’ declares the LORD, ‘plans for welfare and not for calamity to give you a future and a hope.  Jeremiah 29:11 NASB

And we know that God causes all things to work together for good to those who love God, to those who are called according to His purpose.  Romans 8:28 NASB

Be blessed and tell someone you love them!

 

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

