Nicaragua

A dichotomy.  That’s what Nicaragua is….beautiful and ugly all at once.  A beautiful, lush countryside with a people who have no clue how to work their land.  A beautiful people who are so repressed by poverty that they are barely surviving.  Concrete and dirt collide where the buildings meet the street.  Bicycles are built onto and turned into taxis.  Children can go to school for free….if they can afford a uniform.  Drugs and alcohol numb the pain for many, while their children starve in the streets.  Houses of sticks and plastic boast televisions that the woman of the house prostituted herself for.  A dry riverbed serves as part of a road….until the rainy season hits.  And I love it all.

Last year, I got the opportunity to go to this amazing country of contradiction.  When I came home, I was pretty sure I had left a chunk of my heart there.  I’m thrilled to announce I am going back at the end of this month, where I hope to find the missing pieces of my heart! (Although I suspect I will only leave more of it behind….)

In the 1960’s, Nicaragua became one of Central America’s richest countries.  But, an earthquake in 1972 leveled the Capital City of Managua.  That, along with mishandling of relief money by the then dictator family of Somozo, devastated the economy of the country.  Now,  Nicaragua is the second poorest country in the Western Hemisphere.  Because of political craziness and unrest, many of the countries who were helping Nic have pulled out, leaving an already poverty-stricken country even poorer.

That’s where we come in.  The Bible is clear that there will always be more work to do than workers to do it.  Angie Honeycutt with The Power of One Ministry has a clear vision to help the people of Nicaragua in practical ways, all while telling them of the love of God.  She starts simple with the communities she helps – she teaches them to wash their hands.  Well, okay, it’s a little more detailed than that.  But, the point is, she teaches them basic cleanliness.  She teaches them to pick up their trash, wash their hands, etc.  She has found that it drastically reduces the rate of sickness when these basics are taught.  She also teaches them to work the fertile ground they live on – to plant and sustain gardens.  She helps them start their own businesses.  She helps them help themselves.  (to find out more about Angie and The Power of One Ministry, check out her website: http://www.thepowerofoneministry.org/index.html ).

In the coming days, I will be sharing bits and pieces of our trip last year, along with our plans for our trip this year.  And, so we all know what’s really going on….this is a shameless plea for help!  We need prayer…for unity, for God’s purpose to be achieved, for safety, for lives touched in Nic.  And we need money!  I know, it all comes back to that, doesn’t it?  My dad always said “follow the dollar.”  It’s an uncomfortable subject, but necessary.  I pray that you don’t let that turn you off from reading.  The country and her people are amazing and I can’t wait to share some of the stories with you!  If you don’t feel led to give money, then please don’t!  But, the only way I can present the opportunity is to simply do so….to state the need.  I would ask you to share this blog with your friends.  The need is great and the workers are few.  Thank you, in advance, for watching, reading, waiting and praying with us.

Be blessed and tell someone you love them!

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

