Countdown

We have been counting down for weeks.  Now, we are counting hours.  In less than 48, I will be on a plane headed back to Nicaragua.  What an interesting mix of feelings I have this year.  I expected to be excited.  After all, I’m going back to visit with friends I made last year.  To check on them.  Hopefully bring a blessing.  I will get to meet the little girls my family has sponsored to go to school.  I will paint.  And dance.  Probably sing (God help them!).  I go with Angie, who is almost a Nicaraguan native by now.  And I go with my best friend.  So, it should be all excitement!  But, oddly enough, I’m nervous.  Why? you may ask.  Well….*deep breath*….I dunno….well, not exactly.

I hate the unknown.  Really, really hate.  Yes, it’s a control issue.  No, I don’t think it’s okay.  I just haven’t conquered that yet in my life.  I’m sure someone is going to want to launch into a lecture at this point about letting God rule and reign.  And how He can do all things.  And I have to let Him have this.  And, I’m not discounting your lectures…really, I promise.  Because, truth be told, I would be the first one lecturing if I was on the other side of this blog.  But, I’m not.  And, as I’ve pointed out before, I’m terribly, horribly human.  And this is one of my….things.  Issues.  Thorn in the side.  Call it what you want.  But, this is one of those places where the enemy of my soul tries to trip me up.  And, sometimes he succeeds.  But, I figure it’s better to be tripped on God’s path than to be tricked off of it and at least this way I’m in a good position before my God….on my knees.

So….I don’t know that I have much of a lesson for you today, other than what God is patiently trying to teach me.  “Fear not.”  I’ve heard it said that the Bible says “fear not” in 365 places.  I have no clue if that’s true.  I’m guessing it would depend on which version you were using.  But, I think the point is that it says it….a LOT!  So, I’m gonna dig out a few of my own “don’t be scared” verses and share them with you…(yeah….they may or may not say fear not….)

‘Not by might nor by power, but by My Spirit,’ says the Lord of Hosts.  Zech 4:6 NASB

“My help and glory are in God —granite-strength and safe-harbor-God— So trust him absolutely, people; lay your lives on the line for him. God is a safe place to be.”  Psam 62:7 The Message

And the LORD, he it is that doth go before thee; he will be with thee, he will not fail thee, neither forsake thee: fear not, neither be dismayed.   Deuteronomy 31:8 KJV

Therefore we will not fear, though the earth should change And though the mountains slip into the heart of the sea;  Psalm 46:2 NASB

The LORD is  my  rock and  my fortress and my  deliverer, My God, my rock, in whom I take refuge; My  shield and the  horn of my salvation, my  stronghold.   Psalm 18:2 NASB

What then shall we say to these things? If God is for us, who is against us?  Romans 8:31

Okay….I think that’s enough for now.  Let’s all ponder these today.  I may not be blogging again until the trip is over.  In the meantime, I would ask you to pray for the team going, the driver and interpreter meeting us there, and every soul we’ll come into contact with.  May God be our strength, our voice, our peace.

Be blessed and tell someone you love them!

 

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Countdown

  1. Debra Hatley says:

    If fear is referenced 365 times that supplies us one each day of the year and 365 on the extra day of this year! God is with you! Have a wonderful journey!

Leave a Reply

