Back in Nicaragua

I can’t believe it!  I’m back in Nicaragua!  We made it safely, but not without trouble.  It would appear that God has great things planned for our trip, because we have hit every roadblock imaginable….and many I couldn’t have imagined.  I do believe the enemy of our souls is threatened.  Not because I want to give him too much credit, but because I want God to have all the glory, let me give you a tiny sample of our day…

Our plan is to paint a mural at the hospital here in Managua.  God blessed us with a soul who donated the paint.  Angie carefully checked the airlines rules….several times….and yes, paint was okay, given certain rules were followed.  We followed the rules, but the airline didn’t.  Our paint was confiscated in Charlotte.  Which, by the way, held the flight up by more than thirty minutes.  In Miami, the gate agent decided that Gwen and Angie would have to check one of their carry-on bags because the other bag they were carrying was too bulky.  Never mind that I was waved on through with the same amount of bags and mine were bulkier!  We then carefully watched their bags being manhandled very uncarefully, praying all the while that they would get them back in Managua.  Thankfully, we were reunited with the bags at the end of our flight.  But then, we had to have a couple of our bags checked manually because the x-ray had shown something suspicious.  Yep, you guessed it….something very harmful….makeup.  Actually, fingernail polish and lipstick.  It would seem that Nicaragua wants to make sure they get their cut if you bring wares into the country to sell.  Yes, we explained we were giving these items away, but they didn’t believe us and made us pay tax.  But, of course, God has met us at every roadblock and shown Himself mighty and I fully expect Him to continue.

We have already been to the hospital today to start sketching our mural.  Ohhh….there’s so much I want to tell you about it!  But, I think it will need to wait.  It’s way to much to be stuck at the end of this blog.  I will, however, share with you what I wrote shortly after we arrived today.  In it, perhaps you will see a bit of why I’m here….

I ride along, wondering what I fell in love with about this place.  Dirt, grime, beggars.  Cars, trees, graffiti.  Roadside stands, dilapidated buildings.  Heat-like a wall.  And the smells!  -does poverty have a scent?  Trash everywhere.  All along the road, people selling their wares, desperate for a Cordoba.  Already, I find my heart softening.  How does a country so rich become so poor?  The need is so great, Lord!  How can we few make a difference?  I pray Your hand is upon us.  That Your will is ours.  That we move in perfect unity to do what You bid.  Help me, Lord, to be Your hands, Your feet…their voice.

Please pray.  For us.  For those we touch.  That God will be seen in all we do.  Thank you!

Be blessed and tell someone you love them!

 

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

