Comfort

This week, I had the occasion to be talking to a new dad.  His baby girl was four weeks old and he was utterly overwhelmed at the amazing feeling of being a father.  He then was telling us that he had truly discovered how important a mom really was.  He said he knew moms were important, but one incident in the past few days had made that fact hit home.  He had been holding his little one, trying to comfort her to no avail.  She had been crying for close to an hour, despite his best efforts, when the baby’s mom took her from him.  Instantly, the baby was quiet!  He shook his head at the memory while the moms in the room laughed knowingly.  Sometimes, only mom will do!

It made me think of how, as children of the King, we need our Father.  Life’s painful.  It’s hard.  We get angry, confused and hurt.  And sometimes those moments come that, no matter how spiritual they are, no matter how much they love us, no matter what, people can’t help.  Only God will do!

How well our Father knew this would be the case.  He tells us repeatedly in His Word to look to Him first, to come to Him for the comfort we need.  Psalm 23:4 says “Even though I  walk through the  valley of the shadow of death, I  fear no  evil, for  You are with me; Your  rod and Your staff, they comfort me.”  Isaiah  66:13 says “As one whom his mother comforts, so I will  comfort you.”

How about you?  Has life been hard?  Does it hurt worse that you expected?  Do you just need to be held and comforted?  Run to your Father.  He’s waiting with open arms.

Be blessed and tell someone you love them.

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

