Got algae?

We have a pool.  Above ground, but a pool nevertheless.  I have a love/hate relationship with it.  It requires a great deal of work and it’s a never-ending thing, but on the other hand, my kids and my mom love, love, love it, so it all works out in the end.  Last week, the hubby and I celebrated 20 years of marriage and were blessed to get to run away from home for a couple of days.  We went to the mountains and had a marvelous time.  When we left, the pool was beautiful and seemed to be fine, so we took no extra measures with it.  As we were tramping around in the rain in the mountains, I looked at hubby and said “Ugh.  If it’s doing this at home, we’re gonna go home to a green pool!”  Sadly, I was right.  The rain and lack of extra chlorine had taken its toll on my crystal clear pool.  It now looked like it was preparing to be an extra in some lagoon movie.  I am doing what needs to be done, but it will take a week or so to fix.  Which makes me think of our spiritual life…

Sometimes, life is bumping along nicely and we’re doing just what needs to be done to stay in contact with God and everything feels and looks fine.  But, then the rain starts.  See, if I had shocked my pool before I left for the mountains (because it was time to do so), I wouldn’t have come home to a green pool.  The same is true with us.  The bare minimum isn’t going to prepare us for when the storms come.  We need time….quality time!….with our Lord daily.  We need to read His Word, drink in His presence, pour out praise and we need to do it every day.  Because when things are bright and sunny and we’re doing just enough, our spiritual pool will stay nice and clear.  But as soon as we hit a rough patch and we need extra resources to fight, they simply won’t be there and our crystal clear pool will turn into the black lagoon.

How about you?  Got algae?  It’s easy to get rid of.  In the pool, it requires tons of chlorine and vacuuming and time.  In your spiritual life, it requires tons of time with Dad.  Mine His Word for the treasure He has for you in it.  And, if you need help, don’t be afraid to reach out and tell someone you need prayer.  (Just like I had to go to the pool store and confess my sin of not shocking the pool!)

Praying you all have crystal clear pools and sunny skies today!  Be blessed and tell someone you love them.

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

