Deadheading

If you’ve been here before, then you know that I have a hydrangea, given to me by two very dear friends, that I absolutely adore!  She is a beautiful purplish blue and has the biggest, fattest, most beautiful blooms.  When I walk out my front door, it always brings a smile to my face (except when I forget to water her and she wilts…).  But, of course, hydrangea blooms can only last so long.  It seems that “they” (does anyone know who “they” is anyway???) have created a hydrangea that will bloom repeatedly throughout the summer, but mine is the old-fashioned kind that blooms one glorious set of blooms, then wilts til the next spring.  As I walked past my beloved plant today, I couldn’t help but notice that the very last bit of color is gone.  The blooms are completely brown and dry.  It’s time to cut them off….to “deadhead” it.  I dread it, but know that, like most plants, my baby will be better and brighter for the cutting if I will simply do the deed.

You know….that hydrangea is a great model for us.  So often, we have an incredible experience with God, we see Him move in our lives in the majestic way only He can pull off, we have the glory of His beauty full in our lives….but then it wilts.  Because, let’s face it, even the most amazing miracle becomes history.  As humans, I think we have a horrible habit of being like Lot’s wife and looking back to what was instead of looking forward to what God has in store.  But, we must move on.  We must whack off the dead blooms and wait for our next blooming.  Too often, we hang onto the miracles of the past and our success with God “way back then” when He wants us getting rid of the dead stuff in our lives and anticipating His next big move.

What if Moses had been so excited about his Red Sea experience that he camped out on the other side?  Obviously, that’s not what God had for His people.  The parting of the Red Sea was simply one miracle in a long line of God keeping and providing for His children.  And, if we are living for Him as we should, so are the miracles in our lives simply stepping stones to the next incredible moment with Him as He grows us to be the children of God that He wants us to be.

So….what about you?  Are you sitting around admiring your dead flowers?  That time you helped in VBS and it was a great success.  The time you prayed and God’s answer was so swift and succinct there was no doubting it was Him.  The moment when you felt so close to Him it was as if you could feel His very breath.  Wonderful memories!  But, that’s what they are.  God has so much more for you!  His promises are for today.  He wants to bloom you again.  He wants your scrapbook to be full of the dried blossoms of His miracles.  He wants….well….He wants you.  All of you.  Not just to be a sweet memory.  So….go ahead….cut the blooms.  Scrapbook them if you must.  But, be prepared, because God ain’t done with you yet!

Be blessed and tell someone you love them.

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

