Lemons

I’ve been thinking about lemons lately.  I’ve got some friends who have been handed a few more than they wanted.  It just seems nothing is going right for them.  Job, money, relationship, health issues….you name it, it’s coming.  And we know it’s normal in our Christian walk to have troubles, but sometimes we get tired of dodging lemons!  I’ve recently starting seeing the saying “when life hands you lemons, throw them back.”  And we’ve all heard the saying “When life hands you lemons, make lemonade!”  It’s just a cute way of saying that we should make the best of things.  Yes, true.  But, like I said, lemons have been on my brain, so I did a little googling.  Turns out that lemons are good for a whole lot more than eating.  And, you know me, I couldn’t help but see the spiritual implication of the lemon uses.  We know that God allows trouble in our lives….the enemy can do nothing without His permission.  So maybe, just maybe, God wants to use these lemons for our good. 

Did you know that lemons are good for cleaning?  Yep.  According to the “25 Alternative Uses for Lemons” website I found, you can simply pour lemon juice (or squeeze a lemon) onto the spot you want to clean and go at it.  The citric acid eats away at the grime.  You can also use lemons as a natural exfoliant?….exfolient?….exfoliate?….skin scrubber!  Simply cut the lemon in half, dip it in salt or sugar and scrub away the yucky stuff on your elbows, knees, feet.  Lemons are also a natural disinfectant…they kill germs.  And they are a good way to get rid of nasty kitchen odors.  According to the website, all you have to do is pour the lemon juice on the source and the smell goes away.

Hmmm….see?  I told you there was a spiritual parallel!  When the enemy throws all those lemons at us, God doesn’t want us to throw them back or use them to throw a party (okay….maybe sometimes a party is okay!).  He wants to use them for our good.  He uses the bad stuff in our life to cut away the other bad stuff.  The stuff He doesn’t want cluttering up our spiritual lives.  With God, those lemons clean us up, scrub our yuckiness, kill our germs and get rid of our stinkiness.  In other words… “And we know that God causes all things to work together for good to those who love God, to those who are called according to His purpose.”  Romans 8:28

All things.  Even the lemons.  So….for my friends who are reading this….and I’m pretty sure you know who you are…quit ducking.  Let the enemy throw.  God’s got this.  And He is using all those lemons to make you the woman of God that He wants you to be!

Be blessed and tell someone you love them!

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lemons

  1. sharon hinson says:

    Too bad you can’t squeeze lemons on some people and it will clean up their act. lol

Leave a Reply

