Fill ‘Er Up

I hate getting gas.  Seriously.  I will drive my car until it is running on fumes before I decide to stop and refuel.  Why?  I have no idea.  Maybe it’s genetic….I have a sister with the same problem.  And when I stop to refuel, I’m likely to put the bare minimum in to get me by a couple of days.  My sweet husband doesn’t understand this little problem of mine and tends to laugh at me.  One of his favorite things to do is remind me of his aunt who used to do the same thing.  She would only put a few dollars worth of gas in at a time.  After years of this, for some reason she decided to fill up the tank…and it fell off.  It had rusted above the line where it was normally filled and the weight of a full tank of gas was too much for it!

You know, people aren’t much different.  No, we don’t have gas tanks.  But, we do have love tanks.  And we already know that Jesus instructed us to love.  Love Him, love each other, love folks who aren’t like us.  Love.  Problem is, you can’t pour out of something that’s empty.  And we have a whole lot of people wandering around whose tanks have rusted or been broken or have just been dry for too long.  It’s hard for those empty vessels to love…even when they try.

So….what to do?  Love them.  Pour out love on them.  Fill their tanks.  Keep in mind if a tank is empty or cracked or full of holes, it’s going to take a lot more love than a full perfect tank.  But, it’s my belief that those are the folks who need it the most.  Not sure who to love?  Look around.  Look for the ones who look like they’re not giving out a lot of love.  Remember, you can’t give what you don’t have.

Where do we get refueled when those broken vessels drain us?  You already know the answer.  Fall on Jesus.  God is love….He can’t be anything but love.  Everything He does is in love because that’s Who He is.  Seek His face, spend time with Him, read His Word.  Then get back out there and fill some tanks.  Someday, if we’re really lucky, I believe we’ll get to see a bit of the result.

Be blessed and tell someone you love them!

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

