Sunny…With a Guarantee of a Storm

This summer, my sweet best friend and I decided we were tired of being broke.  So, in true Lucy~Ethel fashion, we got jobs at Carowinds.  To answer the question that I know is rolling in your mind.  Yes.  We are crazy. 

In my few weeks at the amusement park, I have learned a few things…

1. People are crazier than I realized.

2. Not everyone is broke.

3. It does not matter how nicely the sun is shining when I get to the park, it will rain.  Almost always.

So, since I’m not ready to tackle numbers one and two….we’ll look at three.  Everyday when I go to work, I foolishly look at the forecast.  I do not know why, because clearly those weather dudes are not hanging out at Carowinds.  They are never right.  Never.  So, I’ve learned that no matter what, I should take my umbrella.  Because it’s hot.  And humid.  And all that asphalt creates its own weather system.  And it’s gonna rain and storm.  So, ridiculous though I may look, I carry my umbrella.  Yes, the one I bought after being wet for four hours Friday.  Because it’s good to be prepared.

Life is the same way ya know.  No matter how sunny and pretty your life is right now, you’re headed for a storm.  I know that doesn’t seem uplifting, but it’s true.  The Bible promised we’d have trouble.  I’ve heard it said that we are in one of three states at all times – just past a storm, in a storm or headed for a storm.  And I have found it to be a true statement.   Jesus said “I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace.  In this world you will have trouble.  But take heart! I have overcome the world.”  John 16:33  NIV  See…trouble.  But, notice that Jesus also said to take heart because He has overcome the world.

Now, something I’ve noticed about storms at Carowinds is that afterwards everything has been washed clean.  The strollers have all the soda and cotton candy cleaned off.  The dust is gone from the sunglasses displays.  Even the pavement seems clean.  God uses storms in our lives in the same way.  Proverbs 10:25 says “When the storm has swept by, the wicked are gone, but the righteous stand firm forever.”  The wicked (stuff and people!) in our lives cannot withstand the storm.  They are washed away.  But, those of us who are God’s can stand firm in the storm.  Isaiah 25:4 says “You have been a refuge for the poor, a refuge for the needy in their distress, a shelter from the storm and a shade from the heat.”  And in Matthew, Mark and Luke we read about a storm that Jesus quieted with His Words alone.  He spoke to it and it stopped.

So….do you have your umbrella?  Because the scriptures are full of the troubles we will most likely face and also offer the answer.  God….Jesus….Holy Spirit.  The Three in One.  We read continually that God is our shelter, our rock, our fortress.  When we are in Him, we can stand firm.  And I mean IN Him….not just claiming His name without living His life.  That’s like having an umbrella and not opening it….no protection.  I pray that you’re in a place of peace.  But, be assured it’s temporary.  And I pray that God will use the storms in your life to draw you closer to Him and wash some stuff out of your life.

Be blessed and tell someone you love them.  And don’t forget your umbrella!

 

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

