The Best Laid Plans

About 13 years ago or so, mom and dad were getting ready to celebrate their 30th wedding anniversary.  They had come through some really hard times and dad wanted to make the day extra special for mom by throwing a surprise anniversary party.  So, he put my sisters and I to work on putting together an amazing celebration.  We worked on it for weeks and weeks, nailing everything down to the last detail….food, napkins, location, decorations, cake…you name it, we thought of it!  At last the day of the celebration came and we were ready.  We brought everything to the room we rented and got to work.  Shortly before mom and dad were set to arrive, we discovered that we had forgotten the vegetable tray.  To go get it was going to be about a thirty minute round trip.  Although we had plenty of food, I simply couldn’t let go of the thought of that vegetable tray sitting on my sister’s kitchen counter.  My sweet cousin, in an effort to keep me from completely losing it, headed out to pick up the tray…despite her protests that we had enough food and could live without it.  And, of course because this is simply how things go, mom and dad arrived while she was on the veggie tray errand.  She was so upset!  Pictures simply don’t replace actually being there.  And, in retrospect, we truly didn’t need the veggie tray, it would’ve been fine.  But, I wasn’t able to let go of the perfect image of what I thought the party should be to see that fact.  (Ya know, I still feel bad about that blunder.)

Sometimes, our Christian walk can be that way.  We will have it in our heads exactly how a thing is supposed to go.  Maybe God gave us a directive, or an idea, or a partial idea or even just the first step of a huge plan but we think it’s supposed to go down a certain way.  Even when our brothers and sisters in the Lord are standing by the wayside saying “it’s not that important!” we insist on doing it just this way or in just this location or in just this time frame.  Sarah did it.  She got impatient with God and decided that He must need her help.  So, she sent her maid into Abraham to conceive a son.  That didn’t work out so well.  Later, God showed her His plan and she bore a son of her own.  If the thing you think you’re supposed to be doing isn’t working out according to plan (your plan), take a step back and get the big picture.  It’s easy to miss the forest because of all the trees.  Take time to truly seek God’s will.  If it’s what He wants you to do, He will make it happen.  If not, maybe you got a little overzealous.  It’s okay.  We’re human.  He expects it.

So, what about you?  Impatient with what God’s doing?  Your plan not coming together?  Maybe that’s the problem….maybe it’s your plan and not the Lords.  Seek Him and let Him make a new one for you.  I promise it’ll be better!

Be blessed and tell someone you love them!

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

