Legacy

I went to a funeral tonight.  Yes, another one.  If I’ve counted correctly, this makes five since last July – three of them being close family members (including my dad, whom I miss more than I could have imagined.  every.  single.  day.).  There were a couple of others that I simply couldn’t bring myself to attend and fortunately had work as an excuse.  Tonight’s funeral was very sweet.  It was for a woman in our church who lost her battle to cancer.  My pastor’s comments made it very evident that he knew…and loved…her well.  As he was speaking about her, I started to think about what might be said at my funeral.  Don’t get me wrong, I wasn’t necessarily being morose, I was simply wondering if I was leaving a legacy to be proud of.

I think, more than anything, I would like it to be said that I loved.  Loved God, loved people.  Then, I think I would like it to be said that I loved to laugh.  And to make others laugh.  Few things bring me joy like making someone else giggle or guffaw.  (that word’s for you, bestie!)  And I want it to be said that I lived.  Truly lived.  Lived life to the fullest.  Yeah, I know….sounds like the now-turned-cliche phrase that’s been out for a few years….live, laugh, love.  Or love, live, laugh.  Or laugh, live, love.  Oh….you get the point.

And one more thing.  I want it to be said that I was a good friend.  Not just to my best friend.  Not just to the other people I consider close friends.  A friend to…well….everyone I guess.  I know that’s not technically possible, but I hope to come as close to it as i can.

There’s a song by Nichole Nordeman that says it pretty well, I think….

I want to leave a legacy

How will they remember me?
Did I choose to love? Did I point to You
enough
To make a mark on things?
I want to leave an offering
A child
of mercy and grace who
blessed your name unapologetically
And leave that
kind of legacy

Yes.  That’s the kind of legacy I want to leave.  What about you?  Are you working on just getting by in life or are you working on your legacy?

Be blessed and tell someone you love them.

 

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

