Hurricane

I was listening to one of the local Christian radio stations last night on the way to school.  The dj…wait, do they still call them that???….was talking about Hurricane Isaac and the path it seemed he was planning on taking.  He (the dj, not the hurricane) had called friends in Puerto Rico to check on them – to be sure they were going to be safe during the storm.  He said his friends reassured him that hurricanes weren’t quite as scary in Puerto Rico as in other places.  In fact, once the storm passes, they actually end up having block parties.  Their power is out, the meat in their freezers needs to be eaten and they can’t really go anywhere, so party it is.  So, this friend was actually looking forward to Isaac being gone so they could enjoy the after storm party.  Why, you may be asking, would that be?  Well, Puerto Rico is made of a lot of cement.  So, while they certainly have storm damage, it’s generally more about flooding and downed power lines than it is destroyed buildings.  Now, I’m not certain that’s true or if the sentiment is held by everyone in Puerto Rico, but what struck me by the story was this: the damage was minor because of the cement.  I bet you know where I’m going with this!

As we’ve discussed before, we’re going to have storms in our lives.  The Bible guarantees it.  Some of those storms are even going to feel more like hurricanes.  But, Jesus said “Therefore everyone who hears these words of mine and puts them into practice is like a wise man who built his house on the rock. The rain came down, the streams rose, and the winds blew and beat against that house; yet it did not fall, because it had its foundation on the rock.”  Matthew 7:24-25 TNIV  Wow.  Yep, when we build on the rock – or out of cement! – we’re secure.  Our power may go out, some of our trees might fall down, but when God is our Rock and we’ve built securely on Him, we can (and will!) survive the hurricanes in our lives.  Then, we can call up our friends and have a block party when it all passes over!

Be blessed and tell someone you love them!  Oh…and be sure to pray for those in the path of Hurricane Isaac.  Looks like he’s come ashore and ready for a party of his own.

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

