The Faith of a Child

I posted a picture on Facebook of my sweet baby boy’s first day of second grade.  Many people liked and responded to it.  Yes, he started a few days late this year.  We thought we were going to have to homeschool.  (This mama did NOT want to homeschool again!)  But God worked a miracle and little man is going to his school of choice.  That in itself seems like enough of a story, enough of a miracle on its own, doesn’t it?  But, as Paul Harvey would say, now for the rest of the story.

Last year, when my dad was so very sick, Jacob went to the altar several times for his Poppop.  He even got a prayer cloth for him.  Jacob’s faith was deep.  He believed God was going to heal his Poppop.  When dad died, Jacob didn’t lose just a grandfather…he also lost his best friend….and a huge chunk of his faith.

The change in my boy was immediate.  His behavior got horrible.  He was so sad.  And angry.  And confused.  Why hadn’t God healed Poppop?  The Bible says so much about healing, so much about faith and my little one had absorbed it all and took it at face value.  How did we explain that, for Poppop, healing was in the form of salvation…one week before his death.  And, of course, the ultimate healing was arriving in Heaven with a glorified body.

In addition to the grief Jacob was suffering, he was also in a school he hated.  He loved his teacher, but not enough to make him like his school.  And, truthfully, his dad and I hated it as bad as he did.  It simply wasn’t a good fit for J.  In the midst of all this, as Jacob was begging to go to the school he’d gone to the last year – a private, Christian school that we could no longer afford – I told J to pray.  Ask God for the chance to go back.  My sweet little boy looked me in the eye and said “God doesn’t answer my prayers.  He never does.”  My heart broke.

I won’t go into what has changed this year to allow Jacob to go back to the private school.  It will suffice to say that God saw my little boy’s heart, felt his pain, heard his prayer….and answered!  All praise and glory go to God!  We are so thankful for what He has done!

Now….what have you been asking for that God hasn’t delivered yet?  God is no respecter of persons.  What he did for my little Jacob, He’ll do for you.  Just keep trusting, praying, obeying.

Oh….and as for my boy….he had a GREAT first day yesterday and is as happy as I’ve seen him in a long time!  God is so good!

Be blessed and tell someone you love them.

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

